PDA

View Full Version : I want BT without spyware

wiggle
09-13-2005, 08:04 PM
I just need a BT client, I'm new at this. Two requirements

Must be free to download and use

Must be free of spyware and adware

I looked at BitLord 1.1 and it said on the opening page before install, that it contains adware (atleast they were honest), so I have binned that one.

I see a thread about Azareus containing spyware, where the OP downloaded it from the Azareus homepage version 2.3 I think. Most replies he got just said it doesn't have spy/adware but that doesn't explain why he got bargain buddy.

Someone else asked about bitlord, and was told bitlord has crapware, unlike bitcomet, so is bitcomet free of crapware and free to use?

I just need a recomendation please, and a link to a safe download site.

I also noted that your dl speed is linked to your ul speed, I think my ISP limits upload speed to something stupid like 20kb/s my connection is 1meg broadband so the MAX I can download at is around 130kb/s what will be the consequenses of my ISP limiting my upload speed?

Thanks

RealitY
09-13-2005, 08:14 PM
Azerus dosent have spyware as I use it nor do I have any of that...

Gripper
09-13-2005, 08:24 PM
TryBitcomet (http://www.bitcomet.com/) ,I have a 20k upload as well so you should be ok you just leave it running away in the background,you hardly notice it when you're surfing,a lot of people leave them running 24/7,good luck with it you can find plenty of advice here if you have probs,don't forget to read the faq's

ceborame
09-13-2005, 08:45 PM
Ive tried em all !

use azureus its easily the best, I like the safepeer plugin .

per torrent download i get about 300 - 500 connection attempts blocked by safepeer!

you will need to get java runtime environment

regards

mick

Alien5
09-13-2005, 09:01 PM
bitcomet :w00t:

mastros
09-13-2005, 10:03 PM
well azureus its the best but takes alot of ram and cpu
after azureus i kinda like abc best :)

sArA
09-13-2005, 10:39 PM