PDA

View Full Version : Missing files and corrupted downloads when trying t download movies why?

top25
10-06-2005, 01:58 PM
Im new to this still and would like too know where the good movies are that are not corrupted this rarely happens when i download movies with bittorent.Most if not all these movies in newgroups seem too be corrupted and missing files why and where can i get the good ones just DVD-R's mainly.I keep getting part validation failed or something like that im using newsleecher that i bought yesterday. :frusty:

mEtho
10-06-2005, 02:14 PM
When you start getting a lot of missing/corrupt files it is usually one of two things:
1. Faulty RAM, look for Prime95 or memtest86, both are free programs to test RAM. Look at Overclockers forum to see how to use the torture test in Prime95 to check your system. The bad RAM makes Quickpar return a lot of errors.
2. Bad server retntion, a lot of ISP newsservers sux big time when it comes to having the files you need for downloads. A commercial server like Newshosting or Giganews will make a world of difference in getting complete files.

Its from another forum!!!

cldnails
10-06-2005, 03:52 PM
I'm willing to bet it has something to do with the completion/retention of the news provider service that he's using. What service are you using?

You will need to make sure that you also download the .par files on top of the .rar files when downloading a movie. Then use something like quickpar to repair the archives. Once you do this then extract as usual.

{I}{K}{E}
10-06-2005, 03:53 PM
I think you get incomplete files not corrupted files..

try downloading par2 files.

what server do you use?

RealitY
10-06-2005, 04:46 PM
im using newsleecher that i bought yesterday.
I think your cash would be better spent on a good news server like NewsHosting since if your using your company service its most likely an issue of completion. You can check out our referral link for NewsHosting at...
http://www.newshosting.com/?a=51500

top25