PDA

View Full Version : should i have used azuerus instead of utorrent

captkickass
01-09-2006, 02:48 PM
should i have used azuerus intsead of utorrent to download this file? i have an xp computer. cable modem. no firewall.
i have read some of the debates and was wondering some peoples opinon.
the file was 1.28gb. it took a day and 8 hours to download. i uploaded 1.57gb.
and i had a share ratio 1.225. it was the only download i had going.
im new to torrents. and it just seemed slow to me. i stopped using azuerus because it made other applications on my computer run slow. im using version 1.3.1 beta for utorrent.
hope this was enough info

{I}{K}{E}
01-09-2006, 06:25 PM
no.

azureus has the same options as utorrent but utorrent uses les memory ;)

limit your max upload. (if your upload is maxed you cannot download with full speed)

captkickass
01-09-2006, 08:31 PM
thanx for the tip

nat
01-10-2006, 08:02 AM
is it true that azuerus has that thing(can't remember the name) which makes sure all the pieces are 100% accurate? does utorrent have that too?

Tu quoque
01-10-2006, 08:00 PM
Azureus runs checksums. You can see it happen if you restart a torrent or if you've had a crash, not sure if it works the same in utorrent

As for the speed of it, that's more to do with how many people seed and download, and what sort of connections they have, and what else they happen to be running.

Can't say "oh that was slow", or the opposite, without knowing more than the size of the file. Just try for a bit and then go with whatever client works best for you.

nat
01-10-2006, 10:38 PM
see i'd rather use azuerus if i know that their is pretty much zero chance of corrupt files, where as with utorrent...

Tu quoque
01-11-2006, 12:21 AM
I've had corrupted files slip through with azureus, but that involved a massive hardware failure while downloading.

Basically there's no corruption for me, as long as the original torrent isn't buggered from the get-go.