PDA

View Full Version : rtorrent in os x...help!

dunson
02-27-2008, 02:28 PM
I'm trying to set up rtorrent in OS X and I have it properly installed so the program will run, but all of the tutorials gloss over how exactly to create and save a config file file. I know basically what to put in based on the examples and my 2 days experience with rtorrent and Debian, but I really can't remember and I cannot find how to setup .rtorrent.rc. So if anyone can give me some clear directions, I'd be so appreciative.

I'm running rtorrent in MacPorts on a Leopard machine. I'm very new to the command line. Please keep that in mind. Thanks!

naq
02-27-2008, 03:50 PM
The file .rtorrent.rc needs to be in the same location you are running rtorrent from.

Save this file to that location and rename it to .rtorrent.rc: http://libtorrent.rakshasa.no/browser/trunk/rtorrent/doc/rtorrent.rc?rev=1039&format=raw

You can edit the file using the text editor that comes with Leopard.

dunson
02-27-2008, 03:52 PM
Do I need to use Terminal to save the file to the directory? Or can I just save the config text file (which I already have btw) and save it in the Finder?

This point wasn't very clear in the tutorials and when I tried to just drag & drop, I got access denied or something...Might have been the wrong dir for rtorrent.

naq
02-27-2008, 04:12 PM
Sorry, I have no experience with macports. I would think rtorrent can be run from anywhere, so maybe try opening a new terminal, find out the current location (I think typing "pwd" should work), and move the .rc file to that location using finder.

Polarbear
02-27-2008, 05:31 PM