PDA

View Full Version : Your Career Path

JordoR
07-11-2009, 06:48 AM
Just wanted to create this topic as an open discussion. Basically I'm interested in the different careers that people have on the forum, the schooling required, how they arrived at the choice, and if they like it or not.

I'll start things off:

-I am a mechanical designer working for an mining engineering firm. Basically I do the layout/mechanical design for all of the equipment and process required in any particular mine.

-I took a 1 year mechanical design/drafting course at a local technical college.

-I fell into this path for the money at first, but am sticking with it because it is something that I truly enjoy.

Feel free to ask any questions, and to please add your own post below.

j2k4
07-13-2009, 12:46 AM
I don't believe I could claim my current occupation to be the culmination of any sort of plan or an educational endpoint...it followed from pure circumstance, and I haven't the energy to re-trace the path I followed to get here.

I suppose I should note I spent much of that time spinning my wheels and walking backward.

Anyhow, I've always envied those who did it more-or-less by the book.

I could never find a sustaining formal interest, and so commenced a rather patchy education in females, human specie.

The particulars need not be recounted here.

clocker
07-14-2009, 03:06 AM
My career path, such as it is, could never have been planned for and probably couldn't be duplicated.
Too much "right time, right place" kinda thing.

As an aside, I can't think of a single contemporary who actually followed through on their planned career...we all ended up doing weird things, unthinkable when we were yoots.

Cabalo
07-14-2009, 05:25 AM
i have a degree in business and economics, and ended up as an entrepreneur in the night life entertainment industry.
Started on it as a part-time to help pay for the university, climbed the ranks in a flash, and suddenly opened a company with a long time friend.