PDA

View Full Version : Got a new Ded Server-Help Needed

surya_neo
01-11-2010, 01:07 AM
Hi Guys,

I have ordered a ded server from seedhost.eu and i got my server details...just the server ip,username and pswd.

what next? I am a total noob..Can somebody help?

i thought it would come with some default config like utorrent/ftp/vnc...but don't know if these are installed or not..

any help greatly appreciated

waeldiab
01-11-2010, 01:14 AM
is it Windows Server or Ubuntu Server

gust have a look on this thread

http://filesharingtalk.com/vb3/f-guides-and-tutorials-65/t-naqs-complete-setup-guide-for-linux-seedboxes-fedora-corecentosdebianubuntu-281331

surya_neo
01-11-2010, 01:42 AM
It is based on Debian(Lenny)..i remembered that i have order my server with CentOS...but came with Debain..Is it ok or not? any way i have asked for change of os...

waeldiab
01-11-2010, 01:49 AM
i think it will be better if u change it to Ubuntu Server.CentOS is very difficult

surya_neo
01-11-2010, 04:28 AM
I am little confused.Which one is better and simple. CentOS or Ubuntu or Debain.Plz let me know coz i need to modify my support ticket before they act on it.

Strange thing is that i am not able to connect to the server using putty from office...dont know if somebody is working on it.

I asked dancefor(admin of seedhost.eu) yesterday..and he said it will come with basic settings...i don't know if it actually has been configured. I hve tried connecting through vnc from home..could not connect..

oklahomasucks
01-11-2010, 04:47 AM
Ubuntu is the easiest.

surya_neo
01-11-2010, 07:06 AM
ok..I have opened a support ticket,they have not responded to it..so i will close it and raise a new ticket but want to know...how difficult/easy is to setup seedbox and other apps like wine/winrar/filezilla/apache/php/mysql on the server using Ubuntu..

P.S: Should i ask for Ubuntu Desktop or Ubuntu Server version

waeldiab
01-11-2010, 04:11 PM
Ubuntu Desktop IS the best. u will not have any problem