PDA

View Full Version : BT vs Usenet

megabyteme
12-17-2010, 01:27 AM
What are the current strength/weaknesses of each? If all BT got shut down tomorrow, would Usenet be able to replace it completely? Where would we go for community/drama? Are there sufficient "rare files" available? Which has better security? Do private communities mean anything anymore with all of the selling/trading/for profit trackers?

Where do you stand on these issues? Have you tried Usenet? Have you already (happily) jumped the BT ship?

anon
12-17-2010, 01:31 AM
Have you tried Usenet? Have you already (happily) jumped the BT ship?

Yep. I landed on the one-click hosters one. :happy:

I can't really comment on the rest, given I have very little Usenet experience, so consider this just another spam post by me. One thing is for sure, though - if you look at the BT section here, it's pretty hard to think of another filesharing medium that can match it on the drama regard. :P

mrnobody
12-17-2010, 01:33 AM
BT wins easily b/c of packs, community, pretime,...and the 4th thing that i can't remember atm.

pakito
12-17-2010, 02:42 AM
I found a New$ free server at China (Pekin Univeristy, I think so) some year ago and I tested it..Its a good invention, but i prefer utorrent low cost..

Funkin'
12-17-2010, 02:45 AM
Have you tried Usenet? Have you already (happily) jumped the BT ship?

Yep. I've been using newsgroups for quite sometime now(along with DDL), and yes I've pretty much left BT behind. For the most part I only use a couple music trackers anymore and that's about it. And even then, just like here, I rarely participate in the forums nowadays.

And for me, Usenet wouldn't be a complete replacement if BT shutdown. But the majority of it would be. And what wasn't replaced, I would get used to not having very quickly.

The so-called "communities"/drama/and annoying people? These were some of the reasons I decided to further myself from BT.