PDA

View Full Version : Your Tips To New Torrent Users?

Bionic
01-22-2011, 04:57 AM
Your Tips To New Torrent Users?

What would be your tips to new torrent-users?
Was just wondering and bored. Maybe I missed out something... lol. It would also be useful to new users to private-trackers and such.

anon
01-22-2011, 05:24 AM
Two ones that spring to mind:

Don't bother with l33t trackers.

Learn how BitTorrent works, and use it well. I'm talking about being connectable and setting your client up correctly here, stuff like that.

Funkin'
01-22-2011, 05:27 AM
Grab your content and go. Leave all the eliteness and other bullshit to the kiddies of the bt world.

hulabula
01-22-2011, 06:18 AM
I'm pretty new to private torrenting myself, but I agree with anon and funkin. Stay away from bt forums and blogs after you get the invites you want, or else tracker levels will start mattering. Maybe if you're older than the average bt user, say 30 or so, you'd be immune to such things?

Bionic
01-22-2011, 08:54 AM
Grab your content and go. Leave all the eliteness and other bullshit to the kiddies of the bt world.
+1 - I would also add to that to never comment on a torrent and say "thanks" or something like that. lol

DeadPoet
01-22-2011, 12:24 PM
1. Don't rent a seedbox. Never. It's waste of money.
If you can't keep a positive ratio, delete your acc and join other, easier to seed, sites. There are plenty of them.

2. Join rutracker.

3. Learn to use IRC.

IdolEyes787
01-22-2011, 01:09 PM
Belong to the fewest possible trackers and then to those only because of their content.
Don't base your decisions by what people on tracker related websites tell you .
Avoid IRC.

A
01-22-2011, 01:15 PM
Goto Idoleyes for counselling before you do anything in BT. I hear there are already 765 people paying him for his services. Famous names include J-Dye, Serb, OlegL etc.

IdolEyes787
01-22-2011, 01:21 PM