View Full Version : I've Got Ie Problems

02-14-2003, 01:09 PM
I don't know what to do - something is wrong with my IE - when I click on Sig2Dat links - nothing happens, nothing happens when I click on add smiley list in phpBB foums as well (these forums somehow work though)
Did anyone encounter such a problem? - I browsed all my software realted to the internet to determine a possible problem, but no luck
I'll give a list of sofware I use:
Win98 (used windows update a few days ago)
IE 6SP1 (+some patch I downloaded with windows update)
Zone Alarm 3.1.395
WebWasher 3.0
AIM, Trillian
Norton System suite 2003
Norton Antivirus 2001
K++ (the latest I think with sig2dat installed)
Ad Aware 6
I conenct through DSL

Please help

02-14-2003, 01:29 PM
See if this thread helps any...........
http://www.klboard.ath.cx/bb/index.php?act...ST&f=14&t=15845 (http://www.klboard.ath.cx/bb/index.php?act=ST&f=14&t=15845)

02-14-2003, 01:34 PM
I had similar problems, it turned out to be Zone Alarm. Try turning it off and see if it still does it. If it does un-install Zone Alarm and replace it with Kerio Firewall. It's free from Kerio's website:-


02-14-2003, 01:46 PM
download the latest version of zone alarm
thats what i use and i have no problems make sure you dont turn on mobile code with zone alarm if surfing web pages it will block all java

02-14-2003, 01:51 PM
I've been using this version of zonealarm for a few monts, but the problem only accured this week when I reinstalled windows. I've tried shutting it down but no use. I'll try to update it though :)

02-14-2003, 01:56 PM
I use the free version of zone alarm - so mine's the latest version I can get.

02-14-2003, 02:24 PM
I've just tried shutting down ALL running software - firewall, antivirus, even InCD, but didn't help...
The link to other thread didn't help - the guy has an image displaying error (I get that too if I overload my connection with downloads) and I have some kind of scripts error :(
maybe it might be some setting in the IE setup?
Btw, IE version shows 6.0.2800.1106

02-14-2003, 02:52 PM
Not quite fix more of a get round, but have you tried Netscape instead of IE6. I use Netscape 7 and Sig2dat certainly works with it.

02-14-2003, 03:06 PM
i read in anthor forum adaware 6 can mess up your internet settings and delete
a ceratain windows file which need s to be replaced from windows disk

02-14-2003, 04:10 PM
Now that sounds interesting :) I suppose removing ad aware won't help in this case - what should I do?

02-15-2003, 07:46 AM
If your using zonealarms popup blocking that could be doing it.. Cause to do the popup blocking, it strips out javascript (usually) that calls for a popup and alot of the time it takes out to much, try disabling zonealarm's popup blocking (if it's on) and see that helps any

02-15-2003, 08:34 AM
I already tired shutting everything but the explorer down. I also used this version of zonealarm and it all worked fine.
I'll try to reinstall IE a bit later and inform you if anything had solved.
please keep suggestions coming :)

02-15-2003, 09:02 AM
Reinstalling IE Didn't help :(
Btw, a recently installed DX9 - shouldn't be the cause, but just in case.

02-17-2003, 05:04 PM
I tweaked all IE security options possible - didn't help :(
I tried Netscape - not only I couldn't use webwasher and it screwd most websotes - bit it didn't help!
Maybe I should try reinstalling java or vbs scripts? Any Idea what to do?
Help! :(

02-17-2003, 05:14 PM
Updated kazaa to k++ 2.10 - no use... :(