PDA

View Full Version : Url Too Looooooooong



sharedholder
01-23-2004, 11:03 PM
I have a new forum but a long url too.Its posibille without using a url redirection to integrate on my site url .Ex : my site is www.klitetools.com.

and the forum url i like to look like this :

www.klitetools.com/forum/ ?

SeK612
01-23-2004, 11:47 PM
I think it has to be on the same server so you'd have to have the forum in a subfolder called forum on the same server as the one which your site is hosted on. If your forum is hosted elsewhere you may be able to redirect so when some accesses /forum on the site server it points them towards the forum. Otherwise try one of the free short url sites (like .tk).

I.am
01-23-2004, 11:52 PM
Nah just create a folder on your site having the name "forum."

Then create an index.html files which redirects in 0 secs to that long site url. If you have url masking from your server than that url wont even be shown.

h1
01-24-2004, 12:14 AM
Here's something you could use:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!doctype html public "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.1 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1.1-strict.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en-US" lang="en-US">
<head>
<title>Redirecting...</title>
<noscript>
<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="0;url=[FORUM URL]" />
</noscript>
<script type="text/javascript">
document.location="[FORUM URL]";
</script>
</head>
<body>
<!-- Insert some text here if you want -->
</body>
</html>

balamm
01-24-2004, 02:49 AM
http://freeforums.sebflipper.com/index.php?mforum=kltechsupport&

That is a bit long! Do you have any subdomains as part of your hosting deal?

You should be able to set up www.klitetools.com/forum or forum.klitetools.com as part of the package.