PDA

View Full Version : Installing Mobo, RAM, cpu. Any tips?

Timz
11-04-2004, 09:06 PM
Im new to all of this. I have never put in any hardware into my comp besides my Radeon 9600XT. Are there any tips i should know of before i get started. I know about grounding myself before touching the parts due to static.

The parts are the Gigabyte GA-7N400 Pro 2 for the MOBO http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=25223&CatId=1124

256 PC3200 400mhz Kingston RAM x2 http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=84386

and the AMD 2800+ CPU http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=561087&CatId=256

Peerzy
11-04-2004, 09:36 PM
RAM is like a graphics card, easy.

For the chip make sure you add a thin layer or thermal paste over the core and make sure you seat the heatsink so it fits in nice. Mobo is make sure you have all the jumpers set, the cpu and ram in and all cables attached before you screw it in.

Timz
11-04-2004, 09:47 PM
i was told that i didnt need thermal paste if i want going to overclock, and that the heatsink already has a piece of tape underneath it that can absorb the heat. Also, how to i enable dual channel technology w/ my ram. Do i jsut install it anywhere or is there a specific pattern. Im using PC3200 ram

Timz
11-04-2004, 09:53 PM
also, can i leave the system jumpers on the mobo on "auto"? i dont understand how the CLK_RATIO multipliers work, how do i determine which one is right for me?

tesco
11-04-2004, 09:57 PM
Leave the jumpers.
When you start the computer for first time the board will autodetect the right speeds for your CPU. (FSB and MULTIPLIER)

To get dual channel read the manual for your board. Usually there is a certain 2 slots you must put the ram into to get it working in dual chanel mode.