Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Yeah!, I now have 1mb Internet.

  1. #1
    worldpease's Avatar always annoying
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Tj Mexico


    Yes, after all this time, finaly things are geting better.
    I know 1mb is nothing for most of you in the rest of the world,
    but as I mentioned some time ago, here in mexico we are far behind when it comes
    to internet service.
    We only have two main providers, one via the Phone company, and the other via Cable company,
    and the top consumer speeds were 512kbps at $360 pesos ($35 US Dlls /month),
    and of course there are higher speeds up to 4Mb or whatever, but the prices are
    far out of the avarage users range.
    Well, all this lasted for a very, very long time, untill a couple of weeks ago.

    It turns out that, for whatever reason, the Phone company decided to do a major upgrade to theyre internet service,
    so instead of geting 512 now you get 1024kbps,
    and for the same price you where paying.
    So I, having internet with the Cable company, felt stuck, I wanted out...
    I imediatly called the guys at Prodigy (thats the internet service from the phone company),
    but the bastards keept me in the line for more than 15 minutes without any answer, Im not liying.
    So that's all it took to decide that it would be wise to wait, to give it time and see how all this turned out.
    In the mean time, the days that followed, a few people I know actually did the switch, and so far they havent complained...
    still, I have the feeling they aren't telling me everything.

    But then !
    since a couple of days ago, I started noticing that my internet surfing,
    and every single download was taking too freaking long, I even thougt there was something wrong
    with my system configuration.
    So today I found out the reason for this was that the Cable company (my current ISP),
    was also making the upgrade !
    and Im now downloading at crazy speeds !!, well, at least more than double
    what I used to.

    So now my Internet conection is 1300kbps at $35 US Dlls.

    That's even a little higher than the other provider.
    So now Im so happy I was loyal to my Cable provider .
    I mean, the service has been great for more than a year now, not a single downtime in all this time, no need for tech suppor,
    and now, they reapay us with this.

    So I just felt like telling you about it guys.
    Last edited by worldpease; 10-15-2006 at 05:48 AM.

  2. ** REGISTER to REMOVE This Ad On The Site!! **
    Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
  3. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #2
    Haha, congrats!
    What's your upstream speed?

  4. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #3
    congratulations !

  5. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #4
    maebach's Avatar Team FST Captain
    Join Date
    May 2005
    burlington, Ontario
    u da man

  6. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Congrats! Enjoy your new connection

  7. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #6
    Acid_death69's Avatar confuddled?!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Hudders' / Middlesbrough
    you lucky thing i wish i hjad that speed i only have 256Kbs

  8. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #7
    Oh, so sticky.
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Congratulations! You're now officially member of the "1Mbit-club".

  9. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #8
    congrats dude! it's cool news from mexico.
    turkey have a same problems.

  10. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #9
    Hairbautt's Avatar *haircut
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Cool. Think I'm stuck at 512kbps, but I called and complained to my ISP and they bumped me up for free.
    Last edited by Alien5; Jun 6th, 2006 at
    06:36 PM..

  11. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #10
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Yorkshire, England
    Nice one, worldpease.

    ISPs seem to be finally realising that it isn't the end-user speed that costs money, it's the amount of data.

    And if they get you on to a plan where you pay for the data rather than the speed then the faster your speed the more you are likely to download and the more money they make.

    In fact, low end-user speeds actually cost them money. They can't buffer enough data, so they have to ask for repeats on the upstream link. But the data has never reached the user so they can't charge for it.

    Quote Originally Posted by Acid_death69 View Post
    you lucky thing i wish i hjad that speed i only have 256Kbs
    Tiscali? ROFL

    I thought even they had stopped providing such a crappy service. Provided you've completed 12 months you should be able to get a free upgrade, or better still switch to a decent ISP. You'll probably have to be disconnected and reconnected to get out of the 256k trap though, so pick the new ISP carefully because you'll be stuck with them for 12 months again.
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts