Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Proper client use on private trackers (e.g. Oink)

Hi all,

I'm new to the world of private trackers and I'm concerned I'm not doing something right.

My Oink account recently got disabled and in chat I was quickly told "you got caught" and was banned.

I would never consider cheating, nor would I know how. My concern is that I'm a bit naive to bittorrent clients and I may have unknowingly done something that was suspicious or unacceptable. I recently joined other private sites, and I want to be a contributing member and not have this happen again.

Here are a few of my behaviors I question. Please tell me if this would be considered unacceptable on a private site.

1. I use two different computers to upload / download.
    2. I have used two different clients (Azureus and uTorrent)
    3. I hit "manually update tracker" in uTorrent. Sometimes a lot, like every few minutes. This seemed to increase my transfer speeds. Plus, on some torrents, uTorrent had trouble connecting; manual updates seemed to help.
    4. I use two different open / free wirleless connections at home (e.g. linksys). I often get disconnected since the signal is so weak. So, I switch between the two networks and start the torrents going again.

I don't know much about IP, ISP, IRC etc. and I'm concerned some of these factors look bad or put a stress on the private tracker.

I'm so saddened to be shut out of Oink. It was a treasure. I donated money, uploaded about 20 new torrents the last two weeks, reported dozens of duplicate files, and filled several requests. I do not want to get banned from other sites and would appreciate any advice.

Thank you,
    RoJo
    Last edited by RoJo; 03-12-2007 at 05:22 AM. Reason: grammar error

2. BitTorrent   -   #2
    lysine's Avatar 49311 BT Rep: +1
    Quote Originally Posted by RoJo View Post
    1. I use two different computers to upload / download.