Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Can anyone reccomend a FIREWALL that will work easily with p2p programs?

  1. #1
    I need a firewall that will block popups, prevent viruses and be able to work with my p2p programs that I mean...not be a major headache to install, setup or actually use. I need one that works well and provides decent protection.

    I use emule, Piolet, Newsgroups, Limewire pro

    Does anyone have any suggestions?

    I have win xp pro for my OS

    System Specs: ATX generic case with 500 watt power supply. ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe Motherboard. Western Digital 7,200 RPM 40 gig IDE Hard Drive.(FAT 32- file system) AMD Athlon XP 2600 processor.(standard fan and heatsink-Thoroughbred Core-standard speed-NO OVERCLOCK) 1 gig of Samsung DDRAM(PC 2700- 333 mhz....2-512mb sticks running in dual channel mode).Ati Radeon 8x XT 1200 (8x is enabled on motherboard). Soundblaster Audigy 2 sound card. Motorola sb 5100 cable modem (Insight Communications-Cable Connection) BenQ 12x DVD- RECORDER.(records -R/-RW or +R/+RW and CD-R formats-4x-24x-4x) Lite on 52x32x52 CD Burner. Zip 100 internal drive and a generic 3.5 floppy drive. Windows XP Professional Operating System. HP Deskjet 3520 inkjet printer and a KDS X Flat 17 inch CRT monitor.

    I have heard that norton antivirus corporate or Zone Alarm is good...any others?
    Last edited by webe123; 08-04-2007 at 11:53 PM.

  2. ** REGISTER to REMOVE This Ad On The Site!! **
    Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
  3. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    sear's Avatar Feeling Clamy BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    I would advise against ZA it can conflict with p2p apps. As for norton meh...resource hog. I use Nod32 for anti virus and Sygate for my firewall and haven't had any problems. A lot of people also like Kaspersky anti virus and outpost for firewall...hope that helps

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Any firewall should work if config 'd right . I'v used most of the big names and found Kaspersky the easiest to setup .

    Here's a site that helps with software and hardware firewalls .

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    game1283's Avatar "ǝuo ǝɥʇ" BT Rep: +7BT Rep +7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    I live in my own world!
    I use comodo ^_^ it works fine for me

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    sangos's Avatar T|-|E RE/-\PER BT Rep: +10BT Rep +10
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    in a house..... Dum-a*s !
    Quote Originally Posted by peat moss View Post
    Any firewall should work if config 'd right . I'v used most of the big names and found Kaspersky the easiest to setup .

    Here's a site that helps with software and hardware firewalls .
    yep kaspersky is very simple to use and don't block any connections till it ask u about it , and also u can add any thing to the firewall exp. and they don't prevent any thing u add to the list...

    change it so i dont get my A** Kicked

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    I'm simply using the windows firewall + hardware router! All p2p apps are working fine! I recommend a router that supports upnp

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    taba's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    I will advise u with kaspersky
    English only in sigs please

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    manofstyle's Avatar n00b BT Rep: +14BT Rep +14BT Rep +14
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    I used ZA until I started using pg2, they have problems running together.

    I switched to comodo and have been very happy, plus Comodo is free.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    harrycary's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Omaha, Ne USA
    I've used Zone Alarm Free and the Pro version in the past with virtually all of the
    P2P programs out there. No problems what so ever.

    I use a hardware firewall now so don't have any software firewall installed.

    Still, no problems.

    But, my experience has shown that any problems using a firewall with any
    software are usually caused by a short between the keyboard and the chair.

  11. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    You don't need a software firewall.
    Just get a router with a good hardware-based firewall. No CPU or RAM hogging.
    Also it would be safe just to carry around a small Anti-Virus. I use ClamWin - just in case.
    I'm not really worried about catching viruses though... it's not like i'm really inclined to eagerly download a random codec off of some sketchy porn site

    But honestly, I haven't used a firewall for atleast the entire year and I have _never_ gotten a virus/worm/trojan
    Last edited by Enigma271828; 08-15-2007 at 06:34 AM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts