Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Yet another seedbox question....

Kapone's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +11BT Rep +11BT Rep +11
    New to the site but not bitTorrent. Its now come time were I would like to get a seedbox (don't we all). My connection is 40 -50kb's right now. So you can see why I would want one. Done a ton of reading on this site over the last few days. There is a lot of great imformation here regarding hosts and such.

I have narrowed my search down to leaseweb. Going by everything I have read they seem to be one of the best rated for speed and such. Some concerns I have ...
    Being I'm new to seedboxes should I start out with a smaller cheaper host to get my feet wet? I'll be learning as I go and would hate to think I wasted the first month costs learning how to set my seedbox up correctly.. I would like to stay in the $50 to $85 range to start off with.

One thing I did not see mentioned.. Do I need a domain name to get a seedbox?

Will this take the load off my home network system because I seed 24 seven now? Looking to get away from that.

I'm sure I'll have more questions as I continue to get this rolling. Many more for actually setting it up with my computer. I know from reading going with windows is the easiest. Not the cheapest but the easiest.

Thanks for any help you can shed on this.....

2. BitTorrent   -   #2
    cocalait's Avatar Yowsa BT Rep: +17BT Rep +17BT Rep +17BT Rep +17
    I'm quite new to the seedboxes as well, but I can answer some of your questions...

Yes, having a seedbox with take the load off from your home network. All the seeding and uploading speed, is done by another physical computer in another country.

No, you do not need a domain name to get a seedbox. (At least at Hosting-ie)

That's I can help with, but surely someone who knows better about this stuff will post.

Good luck with the seedbox, once you get it... it changes the definition of seeding or "keeping the ratio 1:1"

3. BitTorrent   -   #3