Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Better Easy Ip Check.

  1. #1
    lowik's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Classified
    Posts
    122
    This tweak was based on the Easy IP Check tweak posted by Hugo Tremblay.
    Use this if you just want to display your IP address and not the extra information
    (default gateway / subnet mask)

    Simply copy and paste the following into notepad

    @echo.
    @ipconfig | find "IP Address"
    @echo.
    @pause

    And save as IP.BAT (save to your windows dir if you want to be able to access it anywhere)

    Now when you type IP you will see:

    ---------------------------

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : x.x.x.x

    Press any key to continue . . .
    ---------------------------

    (information about the code: @echo. produces a blank line, @ipconfig |
    find "IP Address" causes the output of ipconfig to be piped to the find command,
    which looks for the line containing "IP Address", find then outputs your IP address,
    @pause causes the terminal to wait for user input before continuing.
    The @ before each command tells the terminal not to echo the command being typed.)
    -=By [DRN]Piroman=-

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    thanks a lot

    this is a great little tip

    not really relevant to me, cos i'm on dial up, so i can get my ip easily

    but i don't like to see someone put up a good tip and have no replies
    <span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>BLAH</span>

    <span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>Wayne Rooney - A thug and a thief</span>

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    lowik's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Classified
    Posts
    122
    thanks man
    -=By [DRN]Piroman=-

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    at the bottom of that command prompt add

    cls

    so it looks like

    @echo.
    @ipconfig | find "IP Address"
    @echo.
    @pause
    cls

    This sends all your information to me&#33; muahaha

    no really,

    that way when you press any key it will close.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    3,582
    So what does this do that IPCONFIG or IPCONFIG /ALL won&#39;t do ??

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,184
    Nice tip, not any use to me though, &#39;cos I have a dynamic IP address which changes every time I log on.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    how do you get a dynamic ip?

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    683
    Dynamic IP is one you give it an IP (such as on a network, 192.169.0.1) and a static IP is one it picks it&#39;s own IP automatically (more often used when using broadband)

    so in answer to your question, if I understand it, then you should know your own dynamic IP address but if not right click on network connections and select the icon that corrisponds to your network and click properties.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Ron's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,687
    Actually Ezyryder, it&#39;s the dynamic one that changes every time you log in.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    shn's Avatar Ð3ƒμ|\|(7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,568
    Nice tip, but too bad it only gives you internal ip address, me being behind a router and all. And thats really not a problem too much because I know the 4 external static ip&#39;s for my broadband connection by heart.

    Got anymore neat ideas like that?


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •