Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Blu ray regions Help!!!

Hey everyone.

This is probably a complete noob question. I have DL'd a few complete Blu-rays and when i go to burn them sometimes they play and sometimes they don't. I figure
    it's the region they are meant to be played in causing the issue. I know there's Regions A, B, C. I need region A, but i can't tell in the info which is which.
    Am i missing something or is it luck of the draw? Just need some help.

Thank you.

Also wanted to say that this is a great site
    I'm very happy to be part of the community.
    Last edited by donniex; 07-11-2013 at 12:37 AM.

2. Newsgroups   -   #2
    IF the rip(ping) program has correctly done it's job, then the Region (Reg) will have been 'stripped out', usually. There are lots of disc in which the region is 'locked' and isn't removed by one or another or the ripping programs.

A better question would be, WHY are you burning the discs? Especially the BD50's, very expensive. If you are 'remuxing' them (strip out un-needed audio's, unwanted 'extras' and such) then burning to BD25's is the way to go, IF you aren't recoding the things. A good 33+% of movies can be 'reduced' to BD25 size by remuxing, and/or moving the extras (again, if wanted) to an additional disc (DVD5 or BD25).

But there are LOTS of decently recoded stuff out there, without jumping through the silly encrypted nonsense.

But it all may depend on what you're actually trying to do, and the decrypt program that was used. I burn nothing but BD25's (very inexpensive, actually cheaper than DVD9's in bulk; <90cents ea inkjet printable) and recode things larger to 'size them down'.

Best site to 'check' bluray specs (including region settings) is http://www.blu-ray.com with RegA specifics. There are decent Euro sites as well.

3. Newsgroups   -   #3
    I shrink them to bd-25's. I don't mind that.
    Thank you for the response.
    I will look into this more.

4. Newsgroups   -   #4