Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: My Network Interface Card Is Screwy

  1. #1
    Infested Cats's Avatar Mike Victory
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,168
    it takes about 5 minutes to connect to the internet, and i have cable! I suspect it is my NIC (realtek), but i dont understand why.. i have the latest drivers! Any ideas?

  2. ** REGISTER to REMOVE This Ad On The Site!! **
    Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
  3. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Your Moms House,Texas
    Posts
    200
    Un-install the adapter and re- install it

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    515
    I have a realtek NIC too and have never had any probs with mine.....

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Infested Cats's Avatar Mike Victory
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,168
    i tried uninstalling and reinstalling... to no avail

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    vivitron 15's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    North East England, UK
    Posts
    1,772
    if u can, maybe try borrowing a friends. if that sorts out the prob then don't give them it back!...no just kidding, you could just buy a new one. they're only like 20 ish...not bad, you could use some of the money you're saving on Kazaa
    <insert signature here>

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    515
    or around 10-20 US dollars...

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    harrycary's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Omaha, Ne USA
    Posts
    1,078
    I&#39;ve got a cable connection also and had this same problem just once. I just ran the Windows Internet Connection Wizard and it automatically reconfigured my LAN setting.
    (Start > Programs > Accessories > Communications)

    Voila&#33; I haven&#39;t had that problem since.

    Hope that helps...

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    your isp is probably over subscribed. Meaning your modem is waiting for an IP to be assigned. I&#39;d check it first. I can&#39;t imagin how your nic could be causing the problem. I&#39;d try another computer on your connection. Also see what type of cable modem you have. Some Toshiba modems can be screwed up by various test that the cable maintance people preform on the cable. If yours has been affected it may need to be reprogramed by your cable provider. My neighbors modem has been reprogrammed several times in the past year, where as mine has not had any problems and we both have the same modem connected to the same j-box in our backyard.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Try this:

    Start>Control Panel>Network Connections>
    Right click on &#39;Local Area Connection&#39; and select &#39;Properties&#39;
    Under &#39;General&#39; tab select &#39;Internet Protocol(TCP/IP) and select properties.
    Select &#39;Use the following IP address:&#39;
    Under &#39;IP address&#39; enter the following: 192.168.0.1
    Under &#39;Subset Mask:&#39; enter the following: 255.255.255.0
    Click &#39;Ok&#39;

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •