Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Ie6 Fails To Load

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    34
    Hi,

    Maybe this has been asked before but i couldnt find any threads so here i go:

    [System = Win XP AMD 1800+ SP1 + latest updates ]

    Eversince a few weeks my browser ( IE 6 SP 1 - 6.0.2800.1106) will fail to
    sometimes load small, mostly repeating images (like those 1 px images for
    layout; spacers). This is most noticed in Forums with small repeating icons
    and sometimes the image left to "search" buttom on download.com wont load
    until i do : rightclick, show picture. Other pic do load ..
    Only the small repeating ones are the problem.
    An example of this problem as is accurs in this forum:

    1)

    2)

    3)


    I already tried ~ :

    a) to change the server connections setting in the registry
    (These settings configure the number of simultaneous requests to a single
    WWW server. They are split in 1.0 servers (old HTTP standard) and 1.1
    servers (modern HTTP standard).
    Typical settings are "4" for 1.0 servers and "2" for 1.1 servers (RFC2068).
    But didnt help.

    B) some cable-modem tweak.. didnt help

    c) emptying cash
    d) disabling adsgone on port 80
    e) switching of Kazaa-uploads, downloads
    f) i tried using my proxy server
    g) i tried being nice to my pc
    h) i tried shouting at the mic
    i) newsgroup: microsoft.public.windows.inetexplorer.ie6.browser
    they didn't know ..

    nothing helped !
    So, i'll have to put my faith in the wisdom of this forum ..

    Iek ~

    Thanks if ya can help me out...


    //Peter

  2. ** REGISTER to REMOVE This Ad On The Site!! **
    Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
  3. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Nightwolf's Avatar Old Guy
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Your Mom's House
    Age
    49
    Posts
    1,771
    I've had the same problem ever since I first installed Kazaa. I think it's a known issue, but I don't think there's any way to fix it (other than removing Kazaa).

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    515
    If it happened when installing Kazaa Lite, you most likely told the installer to put in the supertrick thing, so just delete the hosts file and that should fix it, If indeed it was caused by the hosts file
    For XP, the hosts file is at C:\Windows\system32\drivers\etc\
    For Win2k, it's at C:\Winnt\system32\drivers\etc\
    and is just called hosts, no extension

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Poster
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    34
    Originally posted by Yusuke@13 February 2003 - 10:14
    you most likely told the installer to put in the supertrick thing
    I didn't install the supertrick thingie. I do have a modified HOST file because of adbocking programs I installed ( Adaware & PopupCop).
    I don't think this modified HOSTS file causes this problem or KazaaLite, because the images only fail to load sometimes, and when i do that right-click-slow-image action IE does show the images. So maybe it's something else ...

    Anyone?

    //Peter

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    86
    this is a recognised problem with IE6 SP1 unfortunately! The only way around it is to uninstall it (SP1), or switch to another browser.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    krome's Avatar triplesix clubhouse
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    miami , fl
    Posts
    596
    Ive had that some problem few weeks ago, What i did to make it work is I Uninstalled IE and all its updates and started over Install IE and Updating them.... I know its a pain to do but it worked for me after that...

    Its like some type of setting changed when no images load.. Also check spyware,ad... they can change that also.....

    goodluck!

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    515
    Originally posted by tutv@13 February 2003 - 17:55
    this is a recognised problem with IE6 SP1 unfortunately! The only way around it is to uninstall it (SP1), or switch to another browser.
    I have IE6 SP1, have been using it since it came out and have never had that problem...

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    before u go too all the trobble of reinstalling ie try this.
    open ie click on tools-> internet options click the advanced tab scrole down too multimidea and make sure that show pictures and enable pic resizeing are checked
    hope this helps

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Poster
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    34
    Originally posted by QuietSilence!@14 February 2003 - 09:25
    advanced tab scrole down too multimidea and make sure that show pictures and enable pic resizeing are checked
    I wont do a reinstall .. no time
    i double-checked my settings but didn't help.
    My settings were the same as you suggessted.

    //Peter

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •