Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Pentium 4 And Amd Price Drops

  1. #1
    Does anyone have any idea how long it will take for the announced Pentium and AMD price cuts to actually hit the shops and internet retailers (UK)??
    Dying to buy upgrade stuff and am well gutted that i know the prices are about to drop like a stone
    anyone have any useful info
    Cheers

  2. ** REGISTER to REMOVE This Ad On The Site!! **
    Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
  3. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    RPerry's Avatar Synergy BT Rep: Bad Rep
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Charlotte, North Carolina
    Age
    42
    Posts
    3,359
    where did you see this announced at? First I have heard of it.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    TRshady
    Guest
    nooo!, dont tell me.
    Im getting a P4 3.06ghz chip this sunday, Ive spent long enough thinking about it. It would be good though, I could then upgrade all my pc's.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    DARKSHADOW's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    WALES UK
    Posts
    132
    Which do u think is better p4 or amd!!

    whats the pros&cons!!

    i was goingf to upgrade 2wks ago ,but still can,t decide

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    9,946
    Originally posted by DARKSHADOW@26 February 2003 - 16:50
    Which do u think is better p4 or amd!!

    whats the pros&cons!!

    i was goingf to upgrade 2wks ago ,but still can,t decide
    Remember if you change type you will have to change the motherboard too.

    I have an Athlon XP 1700+. Which works great for me. The main reason I got this was because like for like it is well cheaper than the intell one. I was also told, though this may be mince, that it was designed with XP in mind. I'm not big into graphic games, so that wasn't a consideration, though I think the AMD processor has 3D Now or some such thing

    As I understand it they are both good at slightly different things. So it depends on what you want to do. Bear in mind that a good balanced system is the most important thing. No point in having a state of the art processor, with little RAM. I take it you have plenty of that, because it is the simplest and cheapest upgrade. It is also quite often the most effective.

    Bottom line, the real answer for me was that I got the same spec for less money, so I got the Athlon.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    njs12345's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    inside your head, and you can't get me out, mwahahaha
    Posts
    77
    I would probably say AMD, but it really is down to personal choice.
    P4s are more reliable, and AMDs are cheaper.
    But at the moment there really isn't much in it.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Supernatural's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    New York
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,123
    They are pretty even now. The P4's are bit faster and bit more expensive. P4 also has more overclockability. Not much of difference though. They are both solid.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    form what can tell they are both pritty good now
    it use to be that any cpu that wasnt a intell would have problems with MS
    OS's but i have seen a lot of peps with AMD in the last few years that have no problems

    bottom line is that MS wrights its programs to run on Intell cpu's and Amd makes there Cpu's to be like the latest intell

    IMHO: id stick to intell chips they tend to be of a high quality and Amd is always just a little behind on the newest instruction set

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    DARKSHADOW's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    WALES UK
    Posts
    132
    Cheers! everyone ur opinions and advice were much apriceated!

    After readin ur replies abd a little sleep ,i think the best all round bet would be to go with intel p4.

    I,ve been eager to to upgrade for weeks now,so i think i.ll go out and purchace one today!
    thank alot!

    touch wood!! it installs with no problems!

  11. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Actually Intel did something to tick off MicroSoft, and Windows XP was designed on an AMD processor, I have an AMD Athlon XP 2100+ installed.

    Take a look at some of these big name sites, and you'll see that they are practicly webringed with other sites.

    EG AMD links to Asus and MicroSoft, Asus links to AMD and nVidia (though they still make Intel boards)

    If I had wads and more wads of cash, I would buy the best Intel equipment, and a Promethia cooling system (forget the URL, one of my friends showed me the link a while ago, basicly it makes your system run at subzero temperatures, allowing you to overclock the hell out of it)

    Since I don't have these magical wads of cash though, I am happy with my A7N8X setup, and 5 case fans.

    (Though it would help if I had a CD burner, or a hard drive with a capacity over 10 gigs)

    And about that comment about RAM being the cheapest upgrade... it really depends on what you get, the 512 MB stick of Corsair PC3200 that I have in my system now cost about 200 dollars... the max my system supports is 3 1024 (1 gig) sticks of that... which I have seen nowhere, and I think if I saw the price I wouldn't be talking about "how cheap RAM is"

    Now if you still use PC133, then max that crap out (if you're operating system allows it)

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •