Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Ancient Pc Problem

  1. #1
    Ron's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,692
    OK, this may sound odd, but my dad still uses a 386 with DOS5 and Windows 3.11.
    Just to print his invoices, but that doesn't really matter
    Anyway, the other night, he started deleting files, and somehow, he must have deleted some vital files for DOS to work.
    All he gets now, is a "Non-system disk or disk error" message.
    I still have an old 486 laptop with DOS 6.22 and Win3.11 on it.
    I tried making a boot diskette on that one, and put it in my dad's....nothing.
    Besides:
    Command.com
    Sys.com
    IO.sys
    MSDOS.sys
    which other files should a boot diskette have in order to work?
    For some reason drvspace.bin is also on the boot diskette, but I think that won't hurt any.
    Could anyone give me some advice on this matter, other than tell me my dad should stop living in the middle ages.
    He only wants to recover certain files off the HD...
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  2. ** REGISTER to REMOVE This Ad On The Site!! **
    Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
  3. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Autsch

    "which other files should a boot diskette have in order to work?
    For some reason drvspace.bin is also on the boot diskette, but I think that won't hurt any.
    Could anyone give me some advice on this matter, other than tell me my dad should stop living in the middle ages.
    He only wants to recover certain files off the HD..."
    ^
    ||
    Some important files?

    Mayby a computer store can pick these files of the HD

    And i know what you said but get a f**king new Comp

    Just kidding ^_^

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    34
    Posts
    5,530
    there is nothing wrong with using a 386 for printing off invoices it is more than adequate. who needs the latest graphics card and fastest cpu going when all you are doing is a bit of word processing.

    anyway have a look on google for a bootdisk website im sure they will have one for dos 6.XX.

    just download it and whack it on a floppy.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    skelley521's Avatar puter ghost
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    824
    You could try here...

    http://www.bootdisk.com/

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Ron's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,692
    Thanks guys.
    I already made a bootdiskette, but it just wouldn't work.
    Found out why: his A: drive was defective!!
    Replaced it with mine for now.
    Then he said he was working with DOS 5, so I made a bootdisk for DOS 5.
    It was DOS 6.22.......
    So now I can start from the A: drive, and can tell you he really made an effort.
    Every important file is missing. Apart from command.com, everything's gone.
    He said he never used those files anyway, so why couldn't he delete them?
    Man, this is really going back in time.
    His CPU works at 16Mhz, 4MB of RAM, and a 100MB harddisk.
    No wonder he was deleting stuff.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    MagicNakor's Avatar On the Peripheral
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    5,401
    Well, this is a day late and a dollar short, but you should've put autoexec.bat on that boot disk too.

    things are quiet until hitler decides he'd like to invade russia
    so, he does
    the russians are like "OMG WTF D00DZ, STOP TKING"
    and the germans are still like "omg ph34r n00bz"
    the russians fall back, all the way to moscow
    and then they all begin h4xing, which brings on the russian winter
    the germans are like "wtf, h4x"
    -- WW2 for the l33t

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    34
    Posts
    5,530
    now you have access to your files, back them up and then reinstall everything.

    otherwise you will be looking for files he deleted forever.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    tilen76's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Slovenia
    Age
    40
    Posts
    888
    Just take that disk out, plug it in your PC (which I suppose has a CD-RW or at least a bigger HD).

    Then just burn (or copy) everything to the CD (or your HD).

    Then format, reinstall DOS and Win (that should be fun). After that put the files he needs back and voila.




    Or you could simply copy back those missing files, but where's the fun in that.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Ron's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,692
    I can't put his HD in my PC. It's too freaking old!!
    Well, I got it to work by using a bootdisk, but it still won't start on its own yet.
    But I'll get there......
    Aarghhh, I can see the 3 Dos, and 9 Windows disks waiting to be installed.
    Thanks again guys.

  11. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    34
    Posts
    5,530
    3 dos and 7 windows 3.11 lol

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •