Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Security And Ip Address Software

Is it true that one of the best means to secure your computer is to stop or rather make it more difficult for users especially hackers to find out your IP address. Is this true or not, and if it is where would I find the software to to do this? I am pretty new to computers and wondered if someone could explain how they hack you and get your address?

2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    well kinda but not really.

just install yourself a decent firewall, anti virus, dont open email attachments and keep windows up to date then your pretty secure.

if you wanna hack into a pc an ip adress is a good start but it is not always needed.

3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    If hackers dont need your IP address how do they do it? And I thought they got your address of visiting sites and P2P. I've downloaded a free firewall and it shows or seems to show lots off people trying to get into my system?

4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Double Agent
    hackers are everywhere and nowhere...

we are among u.....

5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    I gathered that where can i find out more?

6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    hackers(skript kiddies) can find stupid people who dont worry about clicking that email attachment called server.exe that just infected their machine with sub7.

a home pc is normally hard to break into because of a lack of services running. its more common that you will get worms or viruses.

7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Double Agent
    Originally posted by 4play@22 April 2004 - 15:13
    hackers(skript kiddies) can find stupid people who dont worry about clicking that email attachment called server.exe that just infected their machine with sub7.

a home pc is normally hard to break into because of a lack of services running. its more common that you will get worms or viruses.