Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Uncapping Modems

  1. #1
    anyone got any suggestions on how to uncap a cable modem, preferably without the use of soldering irons

  2. ** REGISTER to REMOVE This Ad On The Site!! **
    Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
  3. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Originally posted by leecheskicked@16 March 2003 - 05:18
    anyone got any suggestions on how to uncap a cable modem, preferably without the use of soldering irons
    I've read several posts on this subject in the forum.. if I remember correctly, the general concensus was not to try it.. your ISP will catch you.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Leech_Killer's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    448
    Try this site to test the speed of your connection, works with dialup and cable.

    Speed Test

    As for uncapping your modem it all depends on what type of modem it is and what ISP you use. Fatal Error's correct in that if you manage to uncap your modem your ISP will be notified of the change, cut you off and ban you for life, as they see it as a theft of service. Here are some websites giving more information about the technical and legal sides.

    http://www.securityfocus.com/news/394

    http://www.cable-modems.org/

    http://www.talkbroadband.com/articles/uncapping.php

    Edit: typo

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Originally posted by Leech_Killer@16 March 2003 - 10:07
    Try this site to test the speed of your connection, works with dialup and cable.

    Speed Test
    Nice site. www.dslreports.com/1047848124]My Results[/url]

    Edited for accuracy.. I think I had your test results. (retested)

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    SideSwiped's Avatar LB 3880
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Age
    45
    Posts
    156
    Was wondering about that myself, Comcast really irritates me sometimes.


    My mind works like lightning. One brilliant flash, and it's gone.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Poster
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    1,233
    Or visit www.speedguide.net and get TCP/IP Optimizer.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    634
    Originally posted by Switeck@16 March 2003 - 21:37
    Or visit www.speedguide.net and get TCP/IP Optimizer.
    this does work!.. but doesn't do to much to the speed
    ice ice baby

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Forum Star
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2,384
    http://www.pcpitstop.com/ has free tests for your computer and connection, they advise you what to change/add and have a connection tweak program as well.


    BTW: This topic belongs in Softwareword instead of Filesharing, in my opinion.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    that site leech killer posted was his own results this is the right link
    http://www.broadbandreports.com/stest

  11. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    私は日本語を知らない。
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Lemoore, CA
    Age
    32
    Posts
    59
    I took that speed test before and got results very similar to Leech_Killer's I'd retake it and post a link but right now I'm downloading so if I did my results would be skewed.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •