Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Can you make a profit from this?

Can you make a profit building 400 - 500$ computers or is it possible to go even cheaper on ebay because I want to try it and if it doesn't work, i'll build me a website and maybe get some off that.
    Last edited by imasoldier; 06-01-2005 at 05:01 AM.

2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    S!X's Avatar L33T Member BT Rep: +5
    Quote Originally Posted by imasoldier
    Can you make a profit building 400 - 500$ computers or is it possible to go even cheaper on ebay because I want to try it and if it doesn't work, i'll build me a website and maybe get some off that.
    Interesting idea... Im not an expert but I dont think it will work.

3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    I always like to try something new and this is what im going to do if it works great!

4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Darth Sushi's Avatar Sushi Lord
    You'll lose out on the tech support (toll-free?) and bundled software

5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Quote Originally Posted by imasoldier
    No it isn't possible.
    For you at least...Michael Dell figured out how to do it.

You'd need to buy everything in vast quantities and set yourself up as a MS Gold Partner and OPK your Windows installations.

Then you need a vast Indian tech support cadre, all trained to say "No, I'm sorry but you are out of warrantee and it's not our fault anyway."

It's difficult for the onesie-twosie builder to make much of a profit at the $1000-1500 level.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Bah im not gonna let you say that im still gonna do it, you saying it won't work just makes me want to try even harder. I WILL NOT FAIL! ^_^

7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    sArA's Avatar Ex-Moderatererer