Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: More Than 1 Homepage?

  1. #11
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Belle Vernon, PA, USA
    Posts
    638
    Not sure about Firefox since I use Mozilla, but this should be close enough: Preferences -> Navigator. Under the "Home Page" section there's a button that says "Use Current Group". You'll want to open up the pages you want as your home page, then go and click that button.

  2. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #12
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    3,073
    You could create a page in HTML when, which opened, opens up the 6 pages you wish to keep. I think this was what vivitron 15 was talking about but wasn't sure...
    On a given day or given circumstance, you think you have a limit.
    And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit and you think "Ok, this is the limit".
    As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further.
    With your mind power, your determination, your instinct and the experience as well, you can fly very high.

    - Ayrton Senna, R.I.P.

  3. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #13
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    41
    Posts
    3,824
    you might be able to write yourself a homepage that automatically redirects you to a random page you choose.

  4. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #14
    Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Montevideo,Uruguay
    Posts
    983
    i could...but it would take time,especcially if the website is slow.And besides: i need a host that doesn't place any ads

  5. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #15
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Yet to be determined
    Posts
    993
    Originally posted by CoolMac@19 March 2004 - 18:59
    i could...but it would take time,especcially if the website is slow.And besides: i need a host that doesn't place any ads
    Serve it yourself. Try installing Apache.

  6. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #16
    Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Montevideo,Uruguay
    Posts
    983
    i know,but i only run Apache on local just to test scripts

  7. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #17
    h1
    Guest
    I have a slightly outdated, slightly crap list of free ad-free hosts hiding in Webdevelopment.

  8. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #18
    ok, the fact is you can only have 1 real home page ( index.hmtl or default.html ) the rest is done with codes and redirects , and why would you want 6 home pages anyway

    Just make the index page with hyperlinks for you visitors to choose what sub index they wish to go to

    An important fact , the average visitor spends less than 10 seconds on a web page and if you make it confusing they will just close it and go somewhere else

  9. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #19
    h1
    Guest
    Code:
    <?php
    $n=rand(1,6);
    $r='';
    switch($n)
    {
       case 1:
          $r.='url to page 1';
          break;
       case 2:
          $r.='url to page 2';
          break;
       case 3:
          $r.='url to page 3';
          break;
       case 4:
          $r.='url to page 4';
          break;
       case 5:
          $r.='url to page 5';
          break;
       case 6:
          $r.='url to page 6';
          break;
    }
    header('Location: http://'.$r);
    ?>

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •