Threads in some sections have NO links for Guests, Register before you can view those threads.
View Full Version : The Kazzagold Ripoff
Crystal Sky
11-19-2002, 01:43 PM
I ordered Kazzalite from the below URL and my entire system crashed after I tried opening it. I have sent numerous e-mails to sonia@kazzagold.com trying to get a refund, but all I get are over 30 advertisements a day from the same address.
Has anyone else encountered this problem??
Does anyone know how to rectify this problem?? :ph34r:
https://www.mcssl.com/app/javanof.asp?Merch...3.503.898&afid= (https://www.mcssl.com/app/javanof.asp?MerchantID=31950&ip=855.723.503.898&afid=)
Guest
11-19-2002, 01:55 PM
http://www.kazaagold.com/KaZaAGold/boxpREMIUM.jpg
Isn't that a doctored image of a SpeakEasy advertisement?! :lol: I'm really sorry Crystal Sky, but you got hosed, don't hold your breath for getting your money back. The only way you'd be able to is to call your credit card provider and tell them you got scammed for a piece of software, which was actually free, and which crashed your computer. :blink:
I sincerely hope you didn't 'order' the KaZaA Gold Premium Version 2.0 one... hell, even the name is too long to be real. Order now: KaZaA Bronze Super Mega Extra-Boobies Platinum Edition Version 3.0.1253!
WiGGY
11-19-2002, 01:56 PM
That was me... I should really register at this place. :huh:
Have you noticed that the email address is sonia@kazzagold.com but the web page is www.kazaagold.com ?
Bit of a give away there I'm afraid (like kazaa-lite not kazza-lite).
And since it is a donation you have NO chance of getting your money back. In fact you should be on the lookout for other spurious transactions on your credit card.
Crystal Sky
11-19-2002, 02:54 PM
Thanks for all the info! I guess I was a bit of a fool :( ...
I am going to investigate further. There has to be a way to get this creep. It's not even the $10 so much, but can you imagine the extent of this scam depending on the amount of hits they get :angry: !??!
I should have realized the mispelling in the name, but fool that I am ;) , it eluded me.
Anyone with any other info you might have, please post it here.
Thanx!! :ph34r:
Crystal
mr_sax
11-20-2002, 02:34 PM
surely someone can report this domain name or something? it is illegal to do such a thing..
DJ_morticia
11-21-2002, 01:25 AM
wow, some people will try anything to make money. I think that whoever is behind that website had better prepare for some serious lawsuit action
Speedeefeet
11-21-2002, 01:44 AM
half :blink: Yeah I know I'll personally hunt whoever did it down and slowly torture them to death.
NeoRaZor
11-21-2002, 01:51 AM
You didn't pay for the software you made a "Donation" to Kazaagold.com. It says so on there site!
Good luck on getting your money back me thinks you'd have better luck winning the lottery! I've got the winning numbers just send $100 US dollars to my PayPal account and I'll send you the next set of numbers.
NeoRaZor
Your friendly neighborhood a-hole! lol
FuNkY CaPrIcOrN
11-21-2002, 01:51 AM
;) What does kazzagold ofter that the other KazzA versions don't,I am just sticking to version 2,its free and I have no problems with it,what do all these other versions have?
El_Jefe
11-21-2002, 02:27 AM
what do all these other versions have?
Apparently, they have $10 from Crystal Sky :)
FuNkY CaPrIcOrN
11-21-2002, 08:50 AM
Originally posted by El_Jefe@Nov 20 2002, 10:27 PM
what do all these other versions have?
Apparently, they have $10 from Crystal Sky :)
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
sos119
11-22-2002, 03:28 AM
this is such a laugh, I had a look at the website (www.kazaagold.com), but I gotta say that the misinformed user would easily fall for it...but its funny how they have a privacy policy on how they DONT send spam, and the only way to download it is to give ur email, :D wat a laugh, they reckon we're that stupid. Just a tip, if u too want to have a look, for the sake of keeping ur email clean, just enter some fake address i just smashed a few letters here and there and added an @ thats all thats needed. It's sad though, ppl making money the wrong way and on top of that, the real Kazaa does the real thing, having all that spyware and adware. Oh well, its a cruel world, thats my 2 cents.
nakedrat
11-22-2002, 04:26 AM
Originally posted by Crystal Sky@Nov 19 2002, 03:43 PM
I ordered Kazzalite from the below URL and my entire system crashed after I tried opening it. I have sent numerous e-mails to sonia@kazzagold.com trying to get a refund, but all I get are over 30 advertisements a day from the same address.
Has anyone else encountered this problem??
Does anyone know how to rectify this problem?? :ph34r:
https://www.mcssl.com/app/javanof.asp?Merch...3.503.898&afid= (https://www.mcssl.com/app/javanof.asp?MerchantID=31950&ip=855.723.503.898&afid=)
i have had the same trouble did you get mitherd by sonia every few days to take up on there offer i mentioned this promblem about 2 weeks ago ;) and now this one of donation i have been told may not be true and more may be asked for .i to have sent emails but heard nothing
El_Jefe
11-22-2002, 06:05 AM
Anybody that's fell victim to the KazaaGold thing should report it to the proper authority. The US government site that deals with this is here (http://www1.ifccfbi.gov/index.asp)
Just don't tell them that you're pissed because you got ripped off, when all you wanted to do was pirate music, software, and movies :)
Crystal Sky
11-22-2002, 02:09 PM
Originally posted by El_Jefe@Nov 20 2002, 11:27 PM
what do all these other versions have?
Apparently, they have $10 from Crystal Sky :)
:P :P :P It just makes me feel all warm and fuzzy :wub: inside to know I've helped "Ms. Sonia Thompson" make those payments on her 4th Ferrari :) ...
Crystal Sky
11-22-2002, 02:16 PM
Originally posted by nakedrat+Nov 22 2002, 01:26 AM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (nakedrat @ Nov 22 2002, 01:26 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteBegin--Crystal Sky@Nov 19 2002, 03:43 PM
I ordered Kazzalite from the below URL and my entire system crashed after I tried opening it. *I have sent numerous e-mails to sonia@kazzagold.com trying to get a refund, but all I get are over 30 advertisements a day from the same address. *
Has anyone else encountered this problem??
Does anyone know how to rectify this problem?? *
https://www.mcssl.com/app/javanof.asp?Merch...3.503.898&afid= (https://www.mcssl.com/app/javanof.asp?MerchantID=31950&ip=855.723.503.898&afid=)
i have had the same trouble did you get mitherd by sonia every few days to take up on there offer i mentioned this promblem about 2 weeks ago ;) and now this one of donation i have been told may not be true and more may be asked for .i to have sent emails but heard nothing[/b][/quote]
If you want to be removed from "sonia's" hit list - report to abuse@GetResponse.com. This worked. I've received nothing for a few days.
Oh man, they even stole the Napster Layout <_<
(Don't be a fool and get it free)
http://ikazaa.net/
1 YEAR MEMBERSHIP - Just $1.66 a month!
http://ikazaa.net/images/box2.jpg
Send them an email at
member@ishareit.com
to let them know how you feel about this
peachy
11-22-2002, 05:28 PM
It's not all that bad....;) They don't sell the software they sell an internet subscription which provides kazaa lite along with their very own p2p application to all its members. In addition to 24/7 support. I subscibed over two months ago before I really knew anything about KL and they've been really helpful plus I've never been spammed.
Crystal Sky
11-22-2002, 06:49 PM
Originally posted by peachy@Nov 22 2002, 02:28 PM
It's not all that bad....;) They don't sell the software they sell an internet subscription which provides kazaa lite along with their very own p2p application to all its members. In addition to 24/7 support. I subscibed over two months ago before I really knew anything about KL and they've been really helpful plus I've never been spammed.
:ph34r: Would you mind sharing the "secret code" that gets them to respond to numerous e-mails for this 24/7 "tech support?" :ph34r:
Rat Faced
11-22-2002, 07:09 PM
I think he's talking about a different site.
Originally posted by Crystal Sky@Nov 22 2002, 08:49 PM
:ph34r: Would you mind sharing the "secret code" that gets them to respond to numerous e-mails for this 24/7 "tech support?" :ph34r:
:]-
Originally posted by FuNkY CaPrIcOrN@Nov 21 2002, 03:51 AM
;) What does kazzagold ofter that the other KazzA versions don't,I am just sticking to version 2,its free and I have no problems with it,what do all these other versions have?
kazza gold == kazaa lite
They just changed the name and sell it :angry:
nakedrat
11-23-2002, 12:31 AM
i have only been on the internet about 3 months and i now i have a lot to learn .this subject as taught me read more even though i hate to read .if before hand i had looked here then i would not have fallen for it i will probably be asking a few more questions as time goes by so please be patient
ZenMystic
11-23-2002, 02:26 AM
man am sure glad I saw this post.... I was looking for information on the struture of the kazaa dbb files as I would like to write my own program to edit it and stuff. I use both altavista and google. and I saw an add for that kazaa gold....
It said buy this version and there will be no spyware, adware or limits to your searches....
I didnt bother with it because am happy with either kazaa or kazaa lite. but I can see why people could be fooled... Am no dummy but it almost caught me.
Hope they get busted real soon.
vBulletin® v3.7.2, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.