GigaNews
View Full Version: FileSharing Talk

Threads in some sections have NO links for Guests, Register before you can view those threads or Log In now.
Your Ad Here

Pages: 1

Edonkey Site's Security Compromised

(Click here to view the original thread with full colors/images)




Posted by: 5zigenCivic

The edonkey webpage www.edonkey.com contains a trojan-downloader which install itself via AcitveX

*****Note this is NOT the official edonkey page that contains malicious activex*******

http://forum.gladiator-antivirus.com/index...st=0&#entry7450 (http://forum.gladiator-antivirus.com/index.php?act=ST&f=10&t=1536&st=0&#entry7450)



Posted by: Yusuke

Most ActiveX Controls ask before they actually install (or atleast i have mine set up that way), so someone would hafta actually tell it to install that thing and if they did that without knowing what it is or who it's from, than they deserve that trojan downlaoder thing, IMO...



Posted by: Paul

www.edonkey.com has never been a site about the filesharing program eDonkey.

It is just a site with advertising and malicious scripts.



Posted by: KazaaSearch

Originally posted by Paul@3 February 2003 - 09:24
www.edonkey.com has never been a site about the filesharing program eDonkey.

It is just a site with advertising and malicious scripts.
bastards! i hate these tricks with domain names!
btw
kazaagold.com is also neither about gold or kazaa :) it's about cleaning bank accounts of fools



Posted by: 5zigenCivic

like i said its not the official site, but most n00bs would probably just type in edonkey.com

Actually there are activex based exploits that could install a trojan on your system... take the godmessage for example.






vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
vB Easy Archive Final ©2000 - 2008 - Created by Stefan "Xenon" Kaeser