GigaNews
View Full Version: FileSharing Talk

Threads in some sections have NO links for Guests, Register before you can view those threads or Log In now.
Your Ad Here

Pages: 1

Got Caught Downloading

(Click here to view the original thread with full colors/images)




Posted by: daz_home

has any one been caught downloading by copywrite federation if yes can you tell me what happens now?(?) i thought sherezza wasn't able to be scanned
i got a message from <abuse@btopenworld.com>
it reads:-
Original Message Follows:
> ------------------------
> Motion Picture Association
> Worldwide Anti-Piracy
> 15503 Ventura Boulevard
> Encino, CA 91436
>
> PHONE: (818) 728 - 8127
> Email: MPAA@copyright.org <mailto:MPAA@copyright.org>
>
> March 5, 2004
>
> Name: BT Abuse
> ISP: BT Public Internet Service
>
> Via Fax/Email
>
>
> RE: Unauthorized Distribution of Copyrighted Motion Pictures
> Protocol: Gnutella
> IP Address: ***.***.***.***
> Reference#: 1837275 (M))
>
> Date of Infringement: 3/3/2004 at 9:58 p.m. EST (GMT -0500)
>
>
> Dear BT Public Internet Service:
>
> The Motion Picture Association (MPA) represents the following motion
> picture production and distribution companies:
>
> Columbia Pictures Industries, Inc.
> Disney Enterprises, Inc.
> Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studios Inc.
> Paramount Pictures Corporation
> TriStar Pictures, Inc.
> Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation
> United Artists Pictures, Inc.
> United Artists Corporation
> Universal City Studios, LLLP
> Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc.
>
> We have received information that you are providing Internet access to
> and possibly hosting the following material:
>
> ------------------------------
> Infringement Detail:
> Infringing Work: FREDDY VS. JASON
> Filename:
> Freddy_VS._Jason_(2003).(DVD).DiAMOND.[www.the-realworld.de].xvidavi
> First Found: 3 Mar 2004 21:58:47 EST (GMT -0500)
> Last Found: 3 Mar 2004 21:58:47 EST (GMT -0500)
> Filesize: 713,786k
> IP Address: ***.***.***.***
> IP Port: 20870
> Network: Morpheus
> Protocol: Gnutella
>
>
>
>
> which is offering downloads of copyrighted motion picture(s) including
> such title(s) as:
>
> FREDDY VS. JASON
>
> The distribution of unauthorized copies of copyrighted motion pictures
> constitutes copyright infringement under the Copyright Act, Title 17
> United States Code Section 106(3). This conduct may also violate the
> laws of other countries, international law, and/or treaty obligations.
>
> We request that you immediately do the following:
>
> 1) Disable access to this site;
> 2) Remove this site from your server; and
> 3) Take appropriate action against the account holder under your Abuse
> Policy/Terms of Service Agreement.
>
> By copy of this letter, the owner of the above-referenced Internet site
> and/or email account is hereby directed to cease and desist from the
> conduct complained of herein.
>
> On behalf of the respective owners of the exclusive rights to the
> copyrighted material at issue in this notice, we hereby state, that we
> have a good faith belief that use of the material in the manner
> complained of is not authorized by the copyright owners, their
> respective agents, or the law.
>
> Also, we hereby state, under penalty of perjury, under the laws of the
> State of California and under the laws of the United States, that the
> information in this notification is accurate and that we are authorized
> to act on behalf of the owners of the exclusive rights being infringed
> as set forth in this notification.
>
> Please contact us at the above listed address or by replying to this
> email should you have any questions. Kindly include the above noted
> Reference # in the subject line of all email correspondence.
>
> We thank you for your cooperation in this matter. Your prompt response
> is requested.
>
> Respectfully,
>
> Thomas Temple
> Director
> Worldwide Internet Enforcement
>
>
> [ Attachment 1 Type: application/octet-stream Name: 1837275.xml]
>
>



Posted by: james_bond_rulez

Originally posted by daz_home@13 March 2004 - 06:26
has any one been caught downloading by copywrite federation if yes can you tell me what happens now?(?) i thought sherezza wasn't able to be scanned
ah haha u got caught.....


old news... <_<



Posted by: Neo 721

are you certain that it was the feds, i would check, becuase you may have to check your Y fronts someone may be pulling a pisser :D



Posted by: Marius24

Originally posted by daz_home@13 March 2004 - 14:26
has any one been caught downloading by copywrite federation if yes can you tell me what happens now?(?) i thought sherezza wasn't able to be scanned
How did u find out? u proberly have been fooled :lol:



Posted by: Switeck

Originally posted by daz_home@13 March 2004 - 10:26
has any one been caught downloading by copywrite federation if yes can you tell me what happens now?(?) i thought sherezza wasn't able to be scanned
i got a message from <abuse@btopenworld.com>
it reads:-
Original Message Follows:

> Network: Morpheus
> Protocol: Gnutella
They claim the network was 'Morpheus', but you were running Shareaza -- which uses Gnutella 2 as well as Gnutella 1.



Posted by: junkyardking

Should have used protowall or the built in sercurity of shareaza to block the ip address of p2p enimies...



Posted by: GrubMe

Its another prank <_< . Or its not a joke...
Good luck :) .



Posted by: Switeck

Your ISP probably didn't send you that email, but if you call them up and say you got a possible prank email claiming the FBI is after you -- they may be able to tell you if it's legit or not. Of course if it is, you may not want to hear what ELSE they'll say. Just take their advice with a grain of salt and don't share as much/anything that might get you in trouble with the same organization that supposedly bothered you in the first place for a couple months.



Posted by: GrubMe

I tried going the RIAA site, its closed down...
Its another prank, or whatever everyone downloads movies no one cares <_< .



Posted by: Canti

Worldwide Internet Enforcement

Wow that guy must be really special to be able to delve into any jurisdiction on the whole planet.



Posted by: Formula1

its a fake , go to the website

http://www.btopenworld.com/ ....



Posted by: Sony

lol don't worried dude! i got one of those for Sharing "Underworld" DVD.

Guess what? nothing happen to me...my ISP told me to not share the file because the MPAA told them to....to this day i still share that movie file!

Fuck them..they don't tell me what to do with my computer. The DVD movie belongs to me now so there for i will do as i please with it!

I haven't heard from them sense!



Posted by: ianuk1982

if your a yank then yea. fbi cant touch you if you live in england dont worry about it mate



Posted by: AndrewBarker

I've had 3 of these letters now from BT, I responded to the first 2 but now I just ignore them

Edit: mine came through the mail, and were definately from BT



Posted by: wgamer

just in case

have a clean hdd and another for sharing

u could claim that ur ip was hijacked (lol)



Posted by: Cotton

Reply and say.


Dear FBI,

Fuck you, I do what I want with my computer and internet connection.

Love George Bush Jr.



Posted by: GrubMe

Dear FBI,

Thanks...



Posted by: muchspl2

Originally posted by Cotton@20 March 2004 - 03:30
Reply and say.


Dear FBI,

Fuck you, I do what I want with my computer and internet connection.

Love George Bush Jr.
http://assess.dia.mil/

there you go, I dare you :lol:

EDIT:
warning do not click link



Posted by: 99shassan

It doesn't work



Posted by: muchspl2

"USE OF THIS OR ANY OTHER DEPT. OF DEFENSE INTEREST COMPUTER SYSTEM (DODICS)
CONSTITUTES AN EXPRESS CONSENT TO MONITORING AT ALL TIMES."
:lol:



Posted by: Mad Cat

Its a little strange, how the MPAA is an American organisation, and then they have no jurasdiction at all to British Telecom. Anyway, BT Openworld doesn't exist anymore, replaced by BT Yahoo.






vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
vB Easy Archive Final ©2000 - 2008 - Created by Stefan "Xenon" Kaeser