Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Arcade NZBs WTO Guides Forums Home
Welcome to FileSharing Talk.  ( Register | Log in )
SuperNews Special   SeedPlace Special

   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Hairbautt
  #1 Old 01-26-2007, 03:04 AM
 
Hairbautt's Avatar
*haircut
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Amerika's Cawk
Age: 19
Posts: 10,948
jollyroger
Malicious BitTorrent Clients: Torrent101 & Bitroll [Plus more!]
Torrent101 and Bitroll are two relatively new BitTorrent clients that can seriously damage your computer. The worst thing about it is that popular sites like Torrentspy, Torrentscan, and even The Pirate Bay display ads for them.

Both clients are scam products that claim to bring you ‘high speeds downloads’, but all they do is install malware, and hijack your browser. We already posted about Bitroll a while ago, and if you take a look at the comments on that post you will see that these clients bring nothing but bad things.

Even worse is the fact that they advertise these malware clients on several torrent sites, using phrases like “Download Torrents using Torrent101 for high speed downloads”. Torrentspy and Torrentscan are two reputable sites that knowingly advertise for these clients. They go so far as to integrate the ads into their design. Experienced BitTorrent users will probably not fall into this trap, but I bet many newcomers will.

You might wonder why respectable BitTorrent site admins advertise for these clients. Well the answer to that is simple: MONEY. The developers pay a lot of cash to these admins, who get paid for installing malware on their turn.

The ads also appear on The Pirate Bay and several other sites through contextual ad-services like Adbrite and Targetpoint (screenshot). They they tried to get on mininova as well, but the site admins rejected the ad proposal on Adbrite, and blocked ads from these malicious clients via Targetpoint.

Another site that was recently infected is Snarf-it. One of the junior admins accidentally made a deal with Torrent101, something that goes completely against the ’safe ads’ policy of one of the cleanest BitTorrent sites on the net. The contract was canceled as soon as possible, and Rafe, the site admin later apologized for the mistake.

So watch out! And avoid these malicious clients.

Source: TorrentFreak
__________________
_________________________________________________________________________________________
Last edited by Alien5; Jun 6th, 2006 at
06:36 PM..
Reply With Quote Hairbautt is offline  
Click to Register Registering will remove these ads.
Click to Register
Sponsored Links

Your Ad Here Giganews Newsgroups Your Ad Here

Your Ad Here Unlimited Usenet
Your Ad Here

Your Ad Here RapidPeer.com Managed Seedbox Services Your Ad Here
apoorv123
  News Section   -   #2 Old 02-03-2007, 09:45 AM
DISABLED PRIVS
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19
Hey Wow I Will Use Em
Reply With Quote apoorv123 is offline  
apoorv123
  News Section   -   #3 Old 02-03-2007, 09:47 AM
DISABLED PRIVS
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19
Hey there is something called SUPERTORRENT a bT client that also gives virus
Reply With Quote apoorv123 is offline  
Hairbautt
  News Section   -   #4 Old 02-10-2007, 03:22 PM
 
Hairbautt's Avatar
*haircut
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Amerika's Cawk
Age: 19
Posts: 10,948
jollyroger
There's now another client called QTorrent. They are all the same, but developers apparently just keep renaming'em.

View: Beware: Malware Supported BitTorrent Clients @ TorrentFreak
__________________
_________________________________________________________________________________________
Last edited by Alien5; Jun 6th, 2006 at
06:36 PM..
Reply With Quote Hairbautt is offline  
Omaster
  News Section   -   #5 Old 02-11-2007, 08:43 AM
 
Omaster's Avatar
ISC4LYFE
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 198
BT Rep: +13
thanks for the heads up.
Reply With Quote Omaster is offline  
Hairbautt
  News Section   -   #6 Old 05-23-2007, 03:07 PM
 
Hairbautt's Avatar
*haircut
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Amerika's Cawk
Age: 19
Posts: 10,948
jollyroger
Posted May 11th, 2007, 04:48 PM
Once again more malicious BT clients...

Check here from TorrentFreak: Malicious BitTorrent Clients: New Coat of Paint, Same Bad Story
Quote:
Originally Posted by TorrentFreak
Get-Torrent is the latest in a sequence of malware-laden torrent clients, cloned from the same infected DNA as BitRoll, Torrent101 and TorrentQ.
Posted May 23rd, 2007, 11:07 AM

Now they're applying it to other applications, see here.

From Bittorrent clients to media players now. I don't think many will fall for it tho' because really for each "scene" or 'application need' there is usually a top 3 set of programs that serve as the leading roles for certain needs. So you'd have to be really n00b or a complete software addict to fall for one of these

Like for BT. Top 2 clients to use has to be utorrent and azureous (SP?)...

TorrentFreak: BitTorrent Malware Spreads to Media Players
__________________
_________________________________________________________________________________________
Last edited by Alien5; Jun 6th, 2006 at
06:36 PM..

Last edited by Hairbautt; 05-23-2007 at 03:13 PM..
Reply With Quote Hairbautt is offline  
mbucari1
  News Section   -   #7 Old 05-23-2007, 10:37 PM
 
mbucari1's Avatar
Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Age: 23
Posts: 2,870
usa
It's not surprising in the least that TPD, torrentspy and others are advertising these clients. They are there for pretty much one reason, TO MAKE MONEY. They are full access complete with ads that pay per unique IP. There is no morality or higher ideology involved. It all comes down to the almighty dollar/euro/etc.
__________________
Silly fagget, dicks are for chicks!
Reply With Quote mbucari1 is offline  

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Your Ad Here Great Deals At NewEgg.com Your Ad Here

The time now is 02:34 PM

Page Generation Time0.16sec    Query Count9 queries Talkgold - Sexy Pictures - Money E-Books - Onlive Forum - Wallpapers for Zunes
Contact Us - FileSharing Talk - Archive - Disclaimer - Top

Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
FileSharingTalk.com - All Rights Reserved