PDA

View Full Version : Can i use DAP instead of Bittorrent for downloading Torrents

anxies
08-18-2005, 06:21 PM
Hi there i just wanted to know if there was a way of using DAP (Download Accelerator plus) instead of my ABC client. I am having problems with my ABC it keeps timing out after about 1/2 an hour and making my AOL not respond which is really aggrevating. However i did what i have never done before and i paid for a download and this came through on DAP software and was very fast and reliable. It seems to go via Http links is there a way of getting these via bit torrent sites or is there sites i can find that download in this format?
Thanks very much
Anne

Dredpirate
08-18-2005, 07:01 PM
NO! Dap downloads from one site. Bittorrent is a different technology and you do not download from a site. You connect to many peoples computers and download and upload from them. Trackers don't actually have the file. they just host a link.

Anyway, DAP is spyware/adware. dump it.

anxies
08-18-2005, 08:27 PM
Hi there thanks for replying, I really havent tried anything other than ABC so i admit you might as well call me a newbie, i know the basics but still need a helping hand to get sorted lol. :blink:
Anyway if i dump this DAP and ABC cause thats buggering up my system for some reason what bit client do you suggest and ports to open for it so on? :blushing:

Thanks
Anne :rolleyes:

Josh
08-18-2005, 08:43 PM
ABC is great i use ABC and BitTornado bit tornado great for a single bittorrent download i use ABC for multi uploading

anxies
08-18-2005, 08:46 PM
To be honest i do love Abc but its just conflicting with something somewhere so i have to try something else :cry: .

dodgy368
08-18-2005, 09:03 PM
To be honest i do love Abc but its just conflicting with something somewhere so i have to try something else :cry: .

anxies, try BitTornado, it's a very easy client to use, or Azureus if you like to fiddle with your client.:)

Hope that doesn't sound too mucky!:w00t: