PDA

View Full Version : Protowall vs. Peerguardian ?? Which ones better

kazaaman
09-21-2005, 12:42 AM
Which firewall is better protowall or peerguardian? From what i've heard people say protowall is better but i dont know any of the actual comparisons, so i wanted a little backgournd.

Thanx :)

abu_has_the_power
09-21-2005, 01:44 AM
protowall is the best. i've been using it since 2003. the best part is it's ability to block ips right at the driver level, before they actually reach ur hdd. also, blocklist manager from bluetack.co.uk is one of the best evil ip compilers out there. it prob is the best. and protowall uses hardly any resources. it uses just over 2mb of ram for me.

RPerry
09-21-2005, 06:43 AM
until this mess gets cleared up with the staff of peerguardian, I wouldn't use anything but protowall :O

Aaron_T
09-21-2005, 12:01 PM
ive always just used peerguardian, never used protowall, maybe i should try it :O

zapjb
09-21-2005, 04:47 PM
I've used PG. The reason being I've never got PW to install. It's missing some driver. Tried several tutorials as this was/is a very common problem. Very idiotic program ime. Cause this problem is experienced by MANY!

kazaaman
09-23-2005, 06:40 PM
Yea i guess I'll just use both. ahhahaa

Thanx

Leeson
09-24-2005, 01:32 AM
I've used PG. The reason being I've never got PW to install. It's missing some driver. Tried several tutorials as this was/is a very common problem. Very idiotic program ime. Cause this problem is experienced by MANY!

I have the same problem with protowall, anyone have any solution that works for this?

tree_for
09-24-2005, 03:40 AM
cant get/nvr got protowall to work, even after trying all e steps they had in e webby

zapjb
09-24-2005, 03:49 AM
Exactly folks. It's almost to the point I don't think PW even works at all. I'm thinking anybody who says they even used PW is lying! LOL!

abu_has_the_power
09-24-2005, 04:27 AM
the driver setup is extremely simple. read the bloody help section!

zapjb