PDA

View Full Version : "The Stand", Best I've ever read.

worldpease
02-22-2006, 07:33 AM
Following the advice of someone in another thread,
I stated reading 'The Stand', by Stephen King and I am very glad I did,
so far it's the best I have ever read (though Im only at alf of it, so don't spoil it).
I read it at work, so the hours go super fast,
as I've mentioned before, Im not an expert at this reading books thing,
but still I enjoy this book like no other,
at first I didn't like the part of 'Mother Abigail', but Im getting used to it,
besides, how bad could it get.
Has anyone read it?

Chewie
02-22-2006, 10:50 AM
I've read it twice (had to get the unabridged version when it was published) and thoroughly agree it's a great book.

M-O-O-N
;)

Cheese
02-22-2006, 12:52 PM
To borrow a cliche, it's a book of two halves. The first half is brilliant, the story of the superflu wiping out American civilization and the few survivor's adventures whilst moving towards Mother Abigail's house.

However, once they start setting up their own town in Boulder (?) the book loses something for me. The religious aspect of it really turns me off and the offhand deaths of some pretty major characters is disappointing. Still, it is one of Stephen King's better books. (That's not to say I don't like his others.)

Snee
02-22-2006, 03:40 PM
Good book.

And I like the the mini-series they turned it into too, oddly enough.

Chewie
02-22-2006, 10:10 PM
Good book.

And I like the the mini-series they turned it into too, oddly enough.
Yeah that was cool too.

j2k4
02-23-2006, 02:59 AM
Cheese has it pretty well-

First half > good

Second half > sux bawls

Ironically, I've read a very similar book that hasn't the lethal weakness of being over-long; it's called Lucifer's Hammer, by Larry Niven and Jerry Pournelle.

Put down The Stand immediately and read the other-you won't be sorry.

Better yet, finish The Stand, then read Lucifer's Hammer.

You'll appreciate it even more.

LikesWine