PDA

View Full Version : What speeds should i be getting?

shadowd
03-20-2006, 02:42 PM
Hi all, I'm new to newsgroups and I'd just like to know what download speeds I should be getting. I've had a trial at newsdemon.com and am currently using usenetserver.com on both of these servers i couldn't download much faster than 700KB/s. I'm on a 12Mbps cable connection, is this maxing out my connection or should I be able to get higher speeds?

Thanks

Guyanese_Bai
03-20-2006, 03:09 PM
damm i would love 700 KB/s, all i get is between 250-350 KB/S but Im on a cable connection upto 3Mbps... I think u should be getting more then that though.

Chewie
03-20-2006, 03:55 PM
To max out a 12Mb/s connection you'd need to download at 1.5MB/s.
I don't know what software you are using, but I use NewsbinPro, which can open multiple connections to the same server in order to maximise bandwidth.

shadowd
03-20-2006, 04:01 PM
I'm using NewsBinPro and i've set it to 10 connections which is the most usenetserver.com allow.

JPaul
03-21-2006, 09:33 PM
Are you using a wireless connection. That may limit your speeds, depending on what version it is.

I have 10Mb/S and would expect to average over 1MB/S

That's with a pre-N wireless router and a Wireless-g adaptor on the PC.

T0TAL-RECALL
03-21-2006, 09:53 PM
Im using a wireless router and its not effected my speeds...

Before I had wireless network I got 250/300KB on my 2mb connectin and I still get that speed.

Defo think somethings blocking your full speed... Check ports if your using a router and also check your AV to see if its effecting. Mine effects USENET dl s I turn if off just while I dl.

erRor67
03-22-2006, 12:23 AM
if your newsgroups allow connecting on a different port than default port try that since your ISP might be limiting speeds on the default usenet port.

shadowd
03-22-2006, 07:26 AM
I'm not using a wireless connection or a router.