PDA

View Full Version : Dual Monitors?

SeK612
04-19-2006, 10:50 AM
I was just wondering how complete a dual monitor set up is.

It seems you can get a degree of independance between the when using software but I'd be interested to hear whether it's possible to have seperation when say playing a game on one monitor and using something like a browser or chat program in the other.

For the moment it seems if focus is switched to the non game monitor (say to type a message or enter a url) you're kicked out of the game and back to the desktop (similar to when you alt tab to change focus).

Is it possible to stop this from happening or will this alway be present when using dual monitors?

Skiz
04-19-2006, 11:03 AM
It is absolutely possible and quite easy.

I play call of duty on one monitor with Teamspeak and MSN Messenger open on the other. I've been using two monitors for about two years now and I could NEVER go back to just one.

What brand/model is your graphics card? You'll need one with two plugs in the back so you can plug both monitors in. Once that's done, reboot and open Windows Display Properties > settings> and check Extend my Windows desktop onto this monitor. Done. :)

There is a very helpful program called Ultramon which is a great tool for controlling the monitors, and seeing as this is a file-sharing forum, we can probably set you up with that program for free. I have a "friend" who did that. :whistling

SeK612
04-19-2006, 11:22 AM
But with MSN messenger can you use it whilst playing the game (or pause the game and switch to talking in messenger whilst the game remains paused on the first monitor).

I've got dual monitors set up already (a new TFT and an old CRT) and have a copy of ultramon to do stuff like extend the windows task bar, I'm just trying to perfect the setup (if I can then I'd possibly get a second TFT monitor in the future) :)

Skiz
04-20-2006, 02:55 AM