PDA

View Full Version : Punk In Drublic

complete noob
05-07-2003, 05:34 PM
rock vs. rap. Who gives a shit. Punk (rock) pwnz all. Anyone who says punk is dead hasn't heard of bands like Strung Out, Teen Idols, Rise Against, Bouncing Souls, Goldfinger, or Dropkick Murphey's. Sum182 doesn't count as punk btw... Always looking to explore the genre more, if anyone who "gets this" post can name some cool punk bands please post em up here so I can check em out. Ska is allowed, but keep your emo outta this thread plz =)
P.S. This is not a debate topic, flame elsewhere, or better yet, go back to mtv and eat whatever they're feeding the masses now, and keep on believing punk is dead so your dirty hands won't stain this genre.

P@uLo
05-07-2003, 05:44 PM
try checking out millencolin, pennywise, yellowcard, anti-flag, and catch 22

thats all i can think of off the top of my head B)

the_faceman
05-07-2003, 06:36 PM
i made a post about this kinda thing before.

the main points were....

bands on mtv or any other music channel are not always bad.

bands that are not well known except for on the "underground" scene are not always good, just because they have their own little fan base.

i think music is a mood thing, and your taste changes with it. i don't see why you should restrict youself.

Finch are good, but you probably won't agree because they get on mtv2 etc now.
AFI are good, but you probably won't agree because Sing The Sorrow is a "sell out" record supposedly.
Bad Religion are good, dunno what you would say about them.
some of the Descendents stuff is good, as is some of NOFX's stuff.
i like the new Transplants album, but seeing as they have a video on mtv i think, they must actually suck in your view.
if you don't like Madness then you're crazy.
i'm not a big fan, but you might like the Voodoo Glow Skulls.
There's Less Than Jake too, who were pretty good live, but they have MTV videos too :o oh no!