PDA

View Full Version : Site Help

TRshady
05-13-2003, 02:50 PM
ok, this is my first attempt ever at making a site and I'm getting on quite well. The thing I can't get right is the animatoins using xara. I see loads of sigs using them and the qualitys great, so what am I doing wrong?

The animation looks amazing in xara but when exported loses all its quality, can anyone help?

My site (http://www.geocities.com/trshadysworld/)

honestly, this is not done for hits, I really do want to create a good quality site (yes, using shitty geocities :( ).

echidna
05-13-2003, 03:21 PM
do you mean the letters swelling in the img http://www.geocities.com/trshadysworld/tr.gif?
that gif is huge man
something isn't right
for the limited effect i don't think the file weight is justified as it doen't add content
i'd recomend using MM fireworks for animating and optimizing web graphix
i imagine xara has a very wizard interface 'type text here' 'select animationstyle' etc. fireworks is a real pixel mill so you'll never need to get anything else for the net but may have a learning curve compared to xara
pallette bredth and the way the image is anti aliased will also effect the visual flavor of the gif

also [b] & <font> tags are being depreciated so use [i] & [b] rather than [i] and [b] and use CSS to style your text [also get cool control of links and scrollbars] also too many empty

s
try to use logical heirarchic tags like the heading tags better
shame it&#39;s all M&#036;, beware of the fuz :ph34r: and view source :lol:

TRshady
05-13-2003, 03:26 PM
Thanks for the reply and advice :) , I&#39;m using ms frontpage and only no basic html so the second paragraph made no sense to me :unsure: . I suppose I&#39;ll try fireworks as you recommend but the sigs on this board look excellent and thats using xara so I wanted to know what I was doing wrong.

Thanks anyway :)

btw, that link to the pic don&#39;t work but yes it&#39;s the animation at the top of my page.

echidna