PDA

View Full Version : Windows XP Pirate 2 Legit

slim150
03-27-2007, 06:44 PM
Background:

A few years ago I purchased my computer from an small online site that came with version of windows xp. Eventually I had to format my drive and thus lost my copy of windows & it never came with a recovery disk. Being a poor college student I just got a pirated version YARRRRRR

Question:

So I have a pirated version of XP professional SP1 on my system, but I want to put a legit version on it now since I'm tired of not being able to update without fear. Can I just buy XP home upgrade? or XP professional upgrade? Or do I have to get the full version? Thanks!!!

zapjb
03-27-2007, 07:59 PM
If I was a Mod. I'd ban you for a week.

When I read your post I thought you'd have a join date of March 27, 2007.

Make that a month. Yup I'd ban you for a month.

No really. Search. It's all here. Don't pay Bill.

slim150
03-27-2007, 11:50 PM
I wasn't asking how or where to get a working pirated copy of windows. I searched for my problem for a while, but I had to get back on VPN for work after my lunch hour.

The question was, what will happen if I try to install an upgrade of XP home to a pirated XP professional. explosion?

and FYI I am all for big business

edit: additionally I can expense it so its no sweat off my back

Colt Seevers
03-28-2007, 01:09 AM
Get a corp. edition, or better yet the very lush Student edition of Win XP from Pisexy..all update flawlessly and without fear. :)

But to answer your question: I don't know :), what do you mean by "upgrade of XP home"? Is this like a downloadable upgrade from MS or what? Anyway if you are intent on buying, then just get an OEM disk of XP Home or Professional then fresh format and reinstall is always the best way for me... I certainly wouldn't just reinstall over my old OS... that would just be sloppy.

Virtualbody1234
03-28-2007, 01:22 AM