PDA

View Full Version : Install Question ( Sounds Interesting ! )

velcrom
06-18-2003, 09:50 PM
So I got my new hard drive - my expression darkened a little when I realised OEM means no box, no INSTRUCTIONS :blink:

Anyway having availed myself of the joys of Disk Management my new 40gb drive is installed and working beautifully :D - OK I'll get to the point

I now want to format my main drive ( C ) and re install Windows XP - I have ( cough ) Windows XP Pro Corporate with SP1 integrated on CD ( where did that come from ? ) - my question is this - if I wipe everything from C drive ( including the current operating system ) how do I access the set up file on the CD ?

Do I just restart the computer with the CD loaded after I have formatted C ?

I do apologise for posting what I'm sure are VERY basic questions but I am not really technically minded so I need a little help :rolleyes:

Thanks to all who reply { you mean you're still awake !! }

Lamsey
06-18-2003, 09:55 PM
Originally posted by velcrom@18 June 2003 - 22:50
So I got my new hard drive - my expression darkened a little when I realised OEM means no box, no INSTRUCTIONS :blink:

Anyway having availed myself of the joys of Disk Management my new 40gb drive is installed and working beautifully :D - OK I'll get to the point

I now want to format my main drive ( C ) and re install Windows XP - I have ( cough ) Windows XP Pro Corporate with SP1 integrated on CD ( where did that come from ? ) - my question is this - if I wipe everything from C drive ( including the current operating system ) how do I access the set up file on the CD ?

Do I just restart the computer with the CD loaded after I have formatted C ?

I do apologise for posting what I'm sure are VERY basic questions but I am not really technically minded so I need a little help :rolleyes:

Thanks to all who reply { you mean you're still awake !! }
WinXP with sp1 integrated? Where'd you get that? Did some real nice guy post a copy? ;)