PDA

View Full Version : Do I need a .cue file to burn .flac files to a cd

Brenya
09-03-2007, 05:25 AM
Ok I'm kinda new at burning flac music files to a cd and I need some help.

I saw that there is a .cue file that comes along with an ablum ripped in flac. Do I need that cue file to burn to the flac files. the reason is that i already got an album encoded in flac that i got from another site without a cue file.

i just want to make sure

lynx
09-03-2007, 07:55 AM
I'm not familiar with the .flac format, but my assumption would be that it will produce a single monolithic track for the full album, in the same way that .ape files do for Monkey's audio.

If that's the case, the .cue file probably holds track break information. You don't have to use it, but if you choose not to you will end up with cd consisting of a single large track.

dbmp
09-03-2007, 09:54 AM
I believe you can burn it with the .m3u (the playlist file that comes with the FLAC ripping). Use a program named "Burrrn". But, wait for a more specialized opinion. :)

Brenya
09-03-2007, 01:54 PM
You don't have to use it, but if you choose not to you will end up with cd consisting of a single large track.
:O I don't want that to happen!

I believe you can burn it with the .m3u (the playlist file that comes with the FLAC ripping). Use a program named "Burrrn". But, wait for a more specialized opinion. :)
Yes, I have heard of Burrrn, but I would rather use Nero (if I can even). It would be nice if I could just make an .m3u file, because I can do that with winamp.

I'll go exploring, tell ya'll what I find lata.

dbmp
09-03-2007, 03:12 PM
Burrrn is really fast and error free. :) I liked the program a lot, replaced my nero for music burning. Good luck in your explorations. :P

Brenya
09-03-2007, 10:45 PM
Well I ended up using Nero. All I have to do is drag the flac files into the program. No cue file needed. :thumbsup:
Do you know what this means!? I don't have to get my flac files from Oink!

Skiz