PDA

View Full Version : Wepage Creation

The Smoking Man
07-07-2003, 10:16 PM
I hear there is an app that shows you the html code you create with a GUI that helps people new to web design.

Any ideas?

Cheers

Illuminati
07-07-2003, 10:22 PM
There's a few around - They're known as 'Graphical HTML authoring software' (or a variation)

The two most popular are Microsoft FrontPage and Macromedia Dreamweaver. For the total newbie, use Microsoft FrontPage - it's the easiest of the two to learn with.

After a while though, you should be bored with it (mainly because you can't do that much with it) - Switch to Dreamweaver, a more powerful but more technical designer instead.

Hope that helps :D

chalkmongoose
07-07-2003, 10:26 PM
Originally posted by The Smoking Man@7 July 2003 - 22:16
I hear there is an app that shows you the html code you create with a GUI that helps people new to web design.

Any ideas?

Cheers
No such thing.
You are trying to do two things at once.
First of all, you want to display raw HTML code, like the stuff generated when you view source on this page.
Then you want to display the result, the stuff you see before you when you click a link or type in a URL.
You can do it, but not in one big mush-pot.

Or, actually, how could I forget Frontpage? That piece of crap from Microsoft will gladly do it. They generate the page, and then shove the tags in front of every element the tags represent. The result is awful, ugly, and may scare you away from HTML for life. I think a program called Hotmetal Pro also did this, actually I'm sure of it...

Illuminati
07-07-2003, 10:30 PM
Originally posted by chalkmongoose@7 July 2003 - 23:26
No such thing.
You are trying to do two things at once.
First of all, you want to display raw HTML code, like the stuff generated when you view source on this page.
Then you want to display the result, the stuff you see before you when you click a link or type in a URL.
You can do it, but not in one big mush-pot.