PDA

View Full Version : Nhs

WeeMouse
07-10-2003, 11:20 PM
Ok I studied the NHS as part of my higher Modern Studies topic this year, and it seems to be getting worse and worse, so the question is - what do we do about it?

For those who don't know:

the NHS was founded in 1948 by a Labour Government, who beleived that health care should be free for everyone at point of use...they wanted to eradicate health divisions between social classes.

The theory was that if a National Health Service was set up, people would eventually become healthier and the NHS would not be needed as much....not the case tho! Costs, scandels and dirty hospitals have made Labour promise to reform it.....

Any ideas? Privatisation? Abolish the NHS? Raise taxes?

If any one has any questions about the NHS i'll try my best to answer :)

hobbes
07-10-2003, 11:29 PM
Undermining every Idealists' dream is a capitalists' scheme.

WeeMouse
07-10-2003, 11:41 PM
:rolleyes:

Hi Hobbes!

:D

you've always got an answer! :)

Rat Faced
07-10-2003, 11:44 PM
The NHS.....

Now that IS a can of worms.

Unfortunately every time you reform, you create more administration, and its the cost of the administration that precludes paying Nurses (etc) a decent wage.

As they cant recruite nurses (etc) for the crap wages (for what they do) then the whole hospital slows down, so they have to contract out to Private Hospitals (or even abroad) to try and get the waiting lists down to meet the governments targets (which costs more, and so causes more budget problems).

We had a Health Service that was the envy of the world, until Thatcher got her hands on it....

The Government ploughs money into it saying that this money cannot be used for staff wages....as its staff shortages which cause most of the problems, all of this extra money gets wasted in contracting out...which is slower and costs more.