PDA

View Full Version : Why is everyone against traders?

virtus134
12-07-2007, 01:35 AM
(Note this started out as a rant in one of the invite threads but I really have to know)

I'm confused. Here's what I have so far:

Apparently, trading disqualifies you from a lot of giveaways automatically, lowers your chances of getting a good tracker invite, and AUTOMATICALLY MAKES YOU A HOMOSEXUAL DOUCHE BAG WHO DESERVES TO DIE. That's the message I'm receiving here. "Trading" invites is looked down on, and those who do can usually count on not being chosen for a lot of giveaways.

But why?

A lot of traders make as good as (sometimes even better) contributions / giveaways to this forum as nontraders. It's not as if all traders do is trade. I've seen traders with much higher giveaway points than a lot of nontraders, and I'm hoping to make good giveaways in the future myself (despite the fact that I'm a trader.)

Most of the people who bitch and moan about trading invites in threads are people with many posts, but little or no giveaway points. So they have many posts because: They just like to talk, they have something to say, OR they are posting because they want to participate in a giveaway. But they have few/no rep points.. so they haven't given anything away themselves. How is being someone who takes and never gives better than someone who takes, gives, and trades? And most of the time when their posts are "You should give this away for free!", meaning that they want the invite but just don't have what the trader wants in return, hence the freeness.

A lot (not all) of the "give-awayers" here give only low level invites. They never give anything higher than a 3 (sometimes 4) but they still get the rep point. I really doubt they care about the community, only building up their rep and getting good invites in return.