PDA

View Full Version : How to avoid disk overloaded in seedbox

fstokebanget
12-11-2007, 05:42 PM
I'm using utorrent with win 2003 in hosting-ie Raptor VPS, and often I see disk overloaded in utorrent. How can I avoid this. I found on google that I have to change the option diskio.write_queue_size, but I cannot find that parameter in utorrent advance option. Then how can I avoid disk overloaded in utorrent. I know this is because I'm using Win 2003, it eats the resource a lot. But I'm new in using seedbox, must learn a little bit longer b4 decide to use Linux

thanks

Squizzle
12-11-2007, 05:53 PM
The disk overloaded thing usually settles down after a few minutes of adding a new torrent.

fstokebanget
12-11-2007, 06:06 PM
so it's normal ?
because I never use utorrent and windows b4 :P
b4 using seedbox I'm using azureus on mac

wonder why the connection speed is so unstable, is it because I'm using VPS and not a dedibox on hosting-ie ?

jesper12345
12-11-2007, 06:07 PM
I have the same problem when downloading @ high speeds :/

STEViEAR
12-11-2007, 06:26 PM
Try these settings this what i use
http://img240.imageshack.us/img240/482/tttpv2.jpg

fstokebanget
12-11-2007, 06:29 PM
thanks STEViEAR, I'll try your settings, but my VPS only has 512MB, could I still set to override automatic cache size manually to 512MB ?

Squizzle
12-11-2007, 06:31 PM
Yeah you're never going to get the same consistancy with a VPS as you are with a dedicated machine to be honest, I've never used a VPS and probably never will.

I've always used linux on seedboxes also, usually CentOS with GNOME vncserver installed, never had problems.

If I'm not leeching anything then I can easily seed at 11MB/s, though leeching while seeding can put pressure on the hard drive.

STEViEAR
12-11-2007, 06:37 PM
If I'm not leeching anything then I can easily seed at 11MB/s, though leeching while seeding can put pressure on the hard drive.