PDA

View Full Version : sci-fi books

SAM
12-22-2007, 07:46 PM
hi everyone ,
i started my vacation and i think i had enough of fantasy books:D

so i like to ask you about some recommendations in a different genre of fiction :)

i'm new to the sci-fi world and i need guidance :(
i only read Issac Asimov books so i'm open for any other .
just name it:)

thanks to you all :fst:

SAM
01-01-2008, 02:35 PM
no suggestions :(

ilw
01-01-2008, 05:56 PM
What kind are you looking for?
If its action/adventure then anything by Alastair Reynolds is good, or Altered Carbon by richard morgan is also good, but Richard Morgan's books get pretty samey after a while and there are a couple of science plot holes which irritate me a bit...

If its the more detailed future gazing sort of stuff (which i would say asimov kind of falls into) then i think arthur c clarke books or 'Red Mars' by Kim Stanley Robinson. Red mars is enjoyable and educational at the same time, the author seriously knows his shit about how colonising mars could work.

Enders game by Orson Scott Card is a good book, its almost more psychological fiction than science fiction but has some nice space combat theory stuff.

Thats all that springs to mind for the moment (probably because its whats sitting on my shelf :whistling: If you get stuck for more books you can just look at the lists of books that have won hugo and nebula awards for ideas. I think most of the ones i've mentioned above probably won awards, but thats mostly coincidence.

SAM
01-02-2008, 06:40 PM
you are the man ,
i really started reading rama "arthur c clark "
thanks buddy :)

wmrawls
01-03-2008, 03:16 PM
Oh My.....there are so many great SCFI authors, do you like the modern writers or the the ones from the last 30 years or so,
Hmmmmm Lester Del Ray, Jack Chalker, Phil Hogan, For Great Military SCFI then, Ringo, Flint, Webber, Drake,