PDA

View Full Version : water cooling?

AmpeD
02-17-2008, 02:10 AM
My dad wants me to water cool his pc because he hates the noise from fans, and I have never used water cooling before. What do I need to buy?

heres the config for the rest of the pc:
Pioneer 20X DVD±R DVD Burner Black IDE Model DVR-115DBK - OEM
Antec Performance One P180 Silver cold rolled steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail
SAMSUNG SpinPoint T Series HD501LJ 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
EVGA 320-P2-N811-AR GeForce 8800GTS 320MB 320-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
Antec NeoPower 550 ATX12V 550W Power Supply - Retail
G.SKILL 4GB(2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ - Retail
GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3P LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Dynamic Energy Saver Ultra Durable II Intel Motherboard - Retail
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor Model BX80562Q6600 - Retail

To liquid cool I was looking at this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835118111
what else do I need to go with that/ how easy is it to setup?

thanks

Cabalo
02-17-2008, 02:13 AM
your dad should be aware that u also need fans to cool the radiator, usually AT LEAST 2x 120mm fans.

i use watercooling and if u spend some bux and buy some decent and expensive noisblocker fans, it should help.
anyway, everything is more quiet than stock cooling fans!

edit: that zalman system sucks big time and has a very poor performance (i assume you are going to OC the system). only custom built systems are worth, but if u don't have the knowledge, ask someone near you to mount you a system, it's soooo easy once u see how it's done.

clocker
02-17-2008, 02:21 AM
Is this PC already assembled and running?

Edit:Here's (http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=34877) 179 pages of watercooled rigs.
Probably best to skip to the end to see the most current kit.

AmpeD
02-17-2008, 02:42 AM