PDA

View Full Version : Could a harddrive die because of start and stoping even when its in a ext. enclosure

DKre8ive1
05-24-2008, 08:35 AM
Ok so here is my gripe I got a brand new 320gig WD drive and a Vantec Esata enclosure about a year and a half ago and I left it on and I only use it for backup.

So my question is how the hell can it fail on me when I have my older 120gig WD(internal drive) that I have been putting a good fragging to for around 3+ years not even give me any hint of failure.

I read on a review on NewEgg where someone mentioned that having your external drive on at all times and if it is esata it could cause it to die sooner because its constantly starting and stopping, but to be honest I cant find the review at the moment and I would really like to hear some input from the local FST A+ techies here on what they think and if what the reviewer said could actually be true.

clocker
05-24-2008, 12:29 PM
I think your drive failed for the normal reasons that hard drives do...it just felt like it.
I've got that same enclosure (black NexStar3) and haven't had any drives fail while in it, nor have I heard any rumors to that effect.

Appzalien
05-25-2008, 09:41 PM
I read in a PC Magazine that the biggest cause of external hard drive failure is Heat. Cases that have poor ventilation can cause a drive to fail prematurely. For that reason, and I too use my external for backup only, I remove my drive after making the backup and store it in my desk until the next time I need to make an image. This way I only run it for an hour at a time every two months or so.

tutipute
05-26-2008, 07:38 AM
Turning the drive on and off should not cause an HD to fail unless it had a problem in the first place. This was a problem a few years back but its been gone for quite a while now...

Appzalien has a good point, it might be that the HD overheated to death.
However, i personally think that it was just a damaged drive on a ticking clock.

clocker
05-26-2008, 02:21 PM