PDA

View Full Version : HELP! Seedbox with Ubuntu..READ

midnightalker
06-26-2008, 10:31 AM
Hi again..I just got my seedbox info. For the record, seedhost.eu is excellent. But there is a small problem...
I can't do anything.I don't know HOW!!
So I REALLY need your help. As I said before this is my first time. I have NO linux experience/knowledge! I thought "Come on how hard can it be? I'll read some tutorials guides, whatever it takes..". Well SHIT. 3 hours now and I have done NOTHING. What I 've done so far:
Managed to login with Putty.
Managed to login with VNC.
Thats it! Nothing else..I was following this guide:
NaQ's Complete Setup Guide for Linux Seedboxes (Fedora Core/CentOS/Debian/Ubuntu) (http://filesharingtalk.com/vb3/f-guides-and-tutorials-65/t-naqs-complete-setup-guide-linux-seedboxes-fedora-corecentosdebianubuntu-281331)
but its no use. I'm moving blindly! HELP people. I'm so angry with myself.

UPDATE: I made it this far: 6. Setup uTorrent & WebUI

Now there is this. I'm connecting with VNC but there is nothing there but the background! No taskbar, no nothing! Right click does nothing at all..

I really hope that someone from you will help me and I'll even seed for him/her. I share the box..Anything. Just to get me started so next month I be able to do it myself.
Waiting eagerly for answers..
The seedbox has Ubuntu Desktop 7.04.

Raban
06-26-2008, 11:20 AM
learning about linux isn't something that comes overnight ... take a break ... sleep on it... come back tomorrow and keep trudging along...

you stick with it you learn and things get easier

midnightalker
06-26-2008, 11:30 AM
OK I cant run Xterm so I typed the commands to start Utorrent in Wine to Putty. Check this out..It seems that some driver is missing..Here is what it says..

Application tried to create a window, but no driver could be loaded.
Make sure that your X server is running and that $DISPLAY is set correctly.and when i type firefox it says: