PDA

View Full Version : Thinking of getting this board

Detale
08-14-2008, 06:14 AM
Thoughts opinions??
ASUS P5Q Deluxe LGA 775 Intel P45 Intel Motherboard (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131297)

http://usa.asus.com/999/images/products/2257/2257_l.JPG

Anyone have any idea if the P45 or the X48 chipset is better??
Basically I think my mobo may be faulty and I want to try an asus anyway, never had one before.

The only thing is in the specs it says it has 8 sata 300's but I only see 4 am I blind??

MaaxHimself
08-14-2008, 06:47 AM
Theres 4 on the reverse

apextwin146
08-14-2008, 07:19 AM
what do u have with u right now and what r u looking for ...
anyways its a pretty average board out there .. u cud wait for a decrease in mobo prices come this september end i think ...

lynx
08-14-2008, 08:09 AM
I've no experience of either chipset, but from the specs I'd have to say that the board you've shown there sounds better, handling dual channel DDR2 at 1200MHz vs 1066MHz.

I believe the other SATA 4 connectors are side on, 2 either side of the IDE connector, 2 red, 2 orange. If I'm wrong then I'm at a loss to figure out what else those connectors could be. :blink:

apextwin146
08-14-2008, 08:35 AM
^ but shudnt he wait for DDR3 as its gonna get a lot cheaper a real soon

lynx
08-14-2008, 08:38 AM
^^ Not if he wants to replace his mobo NOW.

apextwin146
08-14-2008, 09:01 AM
i dont "NOW" mentioned in his post anywhere ..
Anyways if u dont want DDR3 then its a different ballgame as pointed out by lynx ..

accat13
08-14-2008, 12:35 PM
http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/2008/05/28/asus-p5q-deluxe-intel-p45-has-arrived/2
a little more detail

Detale
08-14-2008, 08:48 PM
Thanks guys. Well I could do it now or I could wait a bit. My current board is ok but I think it may be on its way out and I hate to be without a main computer for any amt of time. I do have my HTPC rig that works fine.