PDA

View Full Version : what the meaning of seeding?

daysleeper
08-28-2008, 01:29 PM
im new in this torrent world, im enjoying downloaing albums of artist but i dot know the maning of term such as seeding.....:dabs:

OTO
08-28-2008, 01:34 PM
See Brian's BitTorrent FAQ and Guide
http://btfaq.com/serve/cache/1.html

Seeding is the process of connecting to a torrent when you have a complete file. There are two ways to do this:

1.by leaving your client open after the download completes. Once you have the entire file you become a seed, and the BitTorrent client remains connected to the swarm, sending to other users until you close it.
2.by clicking on a torrent link (or opening a saved .torrent file) and selecting a filename of a file that has already completed. BitTorrent will check over the file and realize that it's already complete, and continue to connect to the tracker and serve as a seed.

ryan20021982
08-28-2008, 01:37 PM
Make sure you read the rules of the trackers you use also

Most all require seeding for a specific amount of time or to a certain ratio

invitehuntah
08-28-2008, 02:00 PM
uploading to the other ones who wants to download the same thing as you

Nemrod
08-28-2008, 03:03 PM
In this torrent world all is about sharing: if nobody gives, nobody receives.
Seeding means that once youīve got what you wanted your job is not done, you received, now itīs your turn to give back. Donīt delete the files and let them running in your client, so others will get what you already got and everybody happy.

SgtMajor
08-28-2008, 04:34 PM
If you enjoy downloading, which is leeching

Then enjoy uploading, which is seeding

downloading=leeching
uploading=seeding

downloading & uploading=peers

horiZen
08-28-2008, 04:40 PM
@daysleeper,,leave your torrents open after download has completed and you are "seeding"

btw,,welcome to FST and the torrent world

shavonn
08-21-2011, 11:40 AM