PDA

View Full Version : Dediseed Review (OVH reseller - after 1 month of use)

NUMBER1
11-17-2008, 12:00 PM
Thought I'd post a review on my experience using the OVH reseller Dediseed.

Initial Sales::D:D:D:D:D
5/5
Very Good, questions were answered very quickly & was most helpful.

Purchase: :):):)
3/5
Paid for my order using PAYPAL on the 07th Oct 2008 & on the 10th Oct 2008 received confirmation email that server ready.
Timeframe was within 2-4 day set up quoted on initial contact, so far so good.

Usage: :D:D:D:D
4/5
Easy to use the Ubuntu Desktop 8.04 OVH machine, good constant speeds, pushed out about 6.5-7 TB in a month.
Being a complete Linux noob, I found it relatively easy to use, just follow guides on line & you cant go wrong.
Creating large torrents can take a while but then it is a small 1.2GHz processor, so dont expect it to fly along when extracting rar packages or rar'ing up large 4-6GB files.
This was the Kimsufi L package, achieved good down & up speeds. You will only be able to push 11MB/s up if you literally stop all torrents and allow just 1 to run, otherwise expect if you have 10 or more torrents running for it to reasonably push about 5-6MB/s (obviously depending on torrent popularity)

After Sales Service::frusty:
0/5
I had an initial problem with 100% cpu use for over 24 hours and couldnt get box to do anything, needed a reboot or some help, sadly email for help went unanswered, finally after googling & visiting various forums got problem fixed & sent email confirming to ignore previous email for help.
At the time I visited these forums to see people were having problems getting in touch with dediseed...
Everything went swimmingly until four days remaining on my package I suddenly lost access to box, no http, ftp, vnc etc.
emailed for help, asking for dediseed to use OVH manager to simply reboot server & nothing, sent couple of emails for assistance as I still had 85-90GB of files on server I wanted to download to home, but no response...